We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing View right on Nicoya Bay/Pacific Ocean!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing View right on Nicoya Bay/Pacific Ocean!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I travelled to Montezuma two years ago and remember walking by this property and checking it out and I was amazed by the peacefulness of it. A large lawn with chairs hammocks and benches right on the ocean. Quiet and Peaceful and just a short walking distance to town. This trip I stayed there for a week and couldn't have been more pleased! The staff is amazing Ammie, Corrina, Sylvia, John Carlo and the Owner was there the week we stayed and personally gave us a ride into town to catch the boat to Jaco when we were leaving. The breakfast was the most delicious in Montezuma the eggs were from fresh chickens and you could taste the difference. The staff was like a family and ate together before all the guests awoke. Charming and peacefulwith a security guard at night. And when you wake to the view you are right on the Pacific overlooking the beauty that is Costa Rica. Iquanas and herons strutting across the lawn, a view of families fishing on a beautiful day, maps of the peninsula, bird and animal charts and a short walk into town past Montezuma Yoga studio where you can take daily classes or head into town and sign up for daily tours ATV rides to Cabuya or MalPais for a day or half day, horseback ride to waterfalls or full moon rides at night, snorkel and hike out at Tortuga Island an hour boat ride north. And there is a waterfall hike that begins right in front of the hotel ask for Sam if he is there that day he will guide you to the top safely and show you how to dive in and use the rope swing on the upper level.

I can't say enough good things. It was hard to leave Montezuma this trip.

WE toured the houses Casa Sol and Casa Luna. AMAZING deal for family and friends.

Pura Vida!! Tina

Room Tip: We stayed in room #9 two big queen beds for $80 a night and then moved to room #2 for $65. There wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    71
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
162
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We did not stay in the hotel, but we came here for breakfast/brunch almost every day. The patio is covered and looks out across a long lawn to the waves crashing on the rocks. It is very peaceful--especially compared to most other places in Montezuma which are close to the ATV noise/exhaust and dust from the road.

The breakfast was delicious. Lots of vegetarian options. And the atmosphere was just generally slow and easy.

I was a little bothered by the veteranarian action happening right in the dining area. Sick dogs milling around and fur flying with shave jobs. However, stray and sick dogs are part of the Montezuma experience, unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

If we go back to Montezuma there isn't anywhere else we would stay! The rooms are basic, as many places in Montezuma are. But it is very clean and we absolutely loved all of the staff! We ate breakfast there each morning and each day SO good! It is a quick walk to beaches and town, and a great location. The grounds are beautiful, and we took a little nap each day in the hammocks...highly recommend Amor de Mar!

Room Tip: Since it is so hot we were very happy to have A/C.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay in Montezuma.. The rooms are clean and the location is amazing. The grounds are beautiful green grass going right up to the ocean with tidal pools and great shell collecting. The only downside is that breakfast is not included, but the restaurant has a great view and the food is good. They only serve breakfast. It's outside of town, which is nice.. But just about 5 minutes walk into town. Definitely recommend this spot.. Probably the best place to stay in Montezuma!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had the great pleasure of staying in room #5. It was spacious, had an incredible view, it's own veranda of sorts, and AC. Room #6 seemed almost as appealing, but several of the rooms seemed more oriented towards back packers (cheap room and board). These rooms were nothing more two beds crammed into a box, with no AC, bathroom or actual space to mingle, just a space to sleep. While the hotel is great, make sure you really know what room you are renting.

They offer a great breakfast and self serve coffee service. The grounds are very nice, the hospitality was exceptional. If I ever go back to Montezuma, I will be in room #5 at Amor De Mar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your beautiful review for room #5. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I wanted to take this opportunity to announce that after October we will no longer have room #1 and #2 that are currently sharing a bathroom. We will have a new larger room very similar to #5, with its own veranda and private bath with A/C. Rooms #1 and #2 are the only two rooms that share a bathroom in the hotel. All the other rooms have either A/C, private bath and ocean view or have a variety of different attractions.

Thank you again for your stay and your review, room #5 is waiting for your return!

Kind regards,

Corina
Management
Hotel Amor De Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had read about Amor de Mar before taking the Ferry from our home in Playa Hermosa,Puntarenas in South Pacific coastal area but did not make a reservation.We arrived to find a magnificent rocky coast, like Maine Seacoast with warm water,fumes and all. Montezuma has a rich Tico-German-Swiss culture and the bread at Amor de Mar was heavenly- thick crusted,freshly baked. We fell into Room 9 - no a/c but great fans of which we only needed one- the corner first floor room with two large picture windows open to the river which the waterfall has fallen into and the front large window with a panoramic view of the craggy rocks,beautifully planted grounds,natural tidal pool,hammocks,tucked away private sitting areas, the hotel so funky and beautiful and warm and inviting. Pristine. Great shower. Breakfast is not included and food in Montezuma is not as cheap as in other places in Costa Rica but it was always exceptional and delicious. Be sure to know that you get in line for the ferry and the plastic "ticket" you are handed you then take to the ticket window and gets you car and driver,any other passenger is a walk on - but the ferry ride was wonderful! A way out of the way trip to a hotel that is Paradise!

Room Tip: don't be afraid to go without a/c on the ocean side here! don't be fraud of the roads but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in 7 different hotels on our 13 day trip through Costa Rica and this was our favorite. The staff and owner went out of their way to make us feel at home and accommodate us. They upgraded us to a room with a private porch. The room had an air conditioner and dehumidifier. After four days of swimming and surfing the dehumidifier was a luxury. We were finally able to dry some things out.

Understand bathrooms are shared except for a few rooms with private bathrooms so make sure you know what you are making reservations for. This hotel is not as primitive as some others. No suicide showers in our room.

The restaurant is beautiful and they have a outstanding Sunday breakfast we happened in on by accident the day we checked in. We were invited to have breakfast and they locked our valuables in a safe while we went on a tour and they made the room ready. I can’t say how nice the staff is there.

We stayed from June 3rd to June 5th 2012. It was a great value and this hotel combined the town of Montezuma makes me want to return next year. Easy walk into town and to the waterfalls form this location. Tidal pools out front.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montezuma
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.9 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#15 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a some rooms have a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.