We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Montezuma!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Montezuma!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place to stay in Montezuma.. The rooms are clean and the location is amazing. The grounds are beautiful green grass going right up to the ocean with tidal pools and great shell collecting. The only downside is that breakfast is not included, but the restaurant has a great view and the food is good. They only serve breakfast. It's outside of town, which is nice.. But just about 5 minutes walk into town. Definitely recommend this spot.. Probably the best place to stay in Montezuma!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    63
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
31
136
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had the great pleasure of staying in room #5. It was spacious, had an incredible view, it's own veranda of sorts, and AC. Room #6 seemed almost as appealing, but several of the rooms seemed more oriented towards back packers (cheap room and board). These rooms were nothing more two beds crammed into a box, with no AC, bathroom or actual space to mingle, just a space to sleep. While the hotel is great, make sure you really know what room you are renting.

They offer a great breakfast and self serve coffee service. The grounds are very nice, the hospitality was exceptional. If I ever go back to Montezuma, I will be in room #5 at Amor De Mar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmorDeMar, Owner at Hotel Amor de Mar, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your beautiful review for room #5. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
I wanted to take this opportunity to announce that after October we will no longer have room #1 and #2 that are currently sharing a bathroom. We will have a new larger room very similar to #5, with its own veranda and private bath with A/C. Rooms #1 and #2 are the only two rooms that share a bathroom in the hotel. All the other rooms have either A/C, private bath and ocean view or have a variety of different attractions.

Thank you again for your stay and your review, room #5 is waiting for your return!

Kind regards,

Corina
Management
Hotel Amor De Mar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had read about Amor de Mar before taking the Ferry from our home in Playa Hermosa,Puntarenas in South Pacific coastal area but did not make a reservation.We arrived to find a magnificent rocky coast, like Maine Seacoast with warm water,fumes and all. Montezuma has a rich Tico-German-Swiss culture and the bread at Amor de Mar was heavenly- thick crusted,freshly baked. We fell into Room 9 - no a/c but great fans of which we only needed one- the corner first floor room with two large picture windows open to the river which the waterfall has fallen into and the front large window with a panoramic view of the craggy rocks,beautifully planted grounds,natural tidal pool,hammocks,tucked away private sitting areas, the hotel so funky and beautiful and warm and inviting. Pristine. Great shower. Breakfast is not included and food in Montezuma is not as cheap as in other places in Costa Rica but it was always exceptional and delicious. Be sure to know that you get in line for the ferry and the plastic "ticket" you are handed you then take to the ticket window and gets you car and driver,any other passenger is a walk on - but the ferry ride was wonderful! A way out of the way trip to a hotel that is Paradise!

Room Tip: don't be afraid to go without a/c on the ocean side here! don't be fraud of the roads but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed in 7 different hotels on our 13 day trip through Costa Rica and this was our favorite. The staff and owner went out of their way to make us feel at home and accommodate us. They upgraded us to a room with a private porch. The room had an air conditioner and dehumidifier. After four days of swimming and surfing the dehumidifier was a luxury. We were finally able to dry some things out.

Understand bathrooms are shared except for a few rooms with private bathrooms so make sure you know what you are making reservations for. This hotel is not as primitive as some others. No suicide showers in our room.

The restaurant is beautiful and they have a outstanding Sunday breakfast we happened in on by accident the day we checked in. We were invited to have breakfast and they locked our valuables in a safe while we went on a tour and they made the room ready. I can’t say how nice the staff is there.

We stayed from June 3rd to June 5th 2012. It was a great value and this hotel combined the town of Montezuma makes me want to return next year. Easy walk into town and to the waterfalls form this location. Tidal pools out front.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in June ( beginning of rainy season). The owners attention to detail in both customer care and the building and surroundings is evident throughout. You truly feel like you are staying at someone's house because you feel so comfortable and safe. We do not speak any Spanish so it was very helpful to have bilingual staff to help us with sight-seeing, transport and even pizza delivery! There is security on site all night which also adds to your feeling of safety. Montezuma has a very bohemian, eco-friendly, nature loving culture. You experience that here at Amor De Mar. We fell in love with this hotel as well as the town. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 5 or 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I spent a few nights at Amor de Mar in May and thoroughly enjoyed it. This is a perfect middle-of-the road accommodation in Montezuma- not the luxury and high prices of Ylang-Ylang, but not the gritty bare bones of the many hostels.

The hotel is located on the main road along a rocky stretch of beach front property. The sand in Montezuma is nothing to write home about, so the rockiness is actually a more pleasing view than the debris-covered shore where many of the other hotels sit. This also gives more privacy as few people walk this rocky stretch. It is located literally across the street from the entrance to the Montezuma Falls, which is awesome.

I'm not sure where the "five minute walk to town" idea came from, because it's easily a 10+ minute walk to downtown (El Sano Banano, ATM, shops, etc.). In high season you would have to dodge the crazy tourists on ATVs, and in low season you have to dodge the muddy puddles. Regardless, it's a nice walk and really not that long... it's just definitely not 5 minutes. This distance does provide a much more peaceful atmosphere. Make sure you bring a flashlight when walking back from town in the dark.

The hotel is absolutely beautiful. I don't think you can find a better spot in Montezuma. The decor is earthy without trying too hard and they do a great job of incorporating flowers amidst the trees enveloping the building.

I really can't say enough about the fantastic breakfast and how ridiculously gorgeous the view looking out at the lawn and ocean is. It's pretty much straight from a travel magazine with short green grass, big palm trees, and big iguanas slowly meandering about in front of the rolling waves. We usually sleep in on vacation, but we were always up early here to watch nature come alive while having a great cup of Costa Rican coffee, a big fruit plate, and a veggie omelet. Perfection.

We stayed in room 3, which was okay. It is much smaller than it looks on the website, and there was a bit of a noise issue with the local rooster reminding us of his presence between 3 and 4am every day. Oh well. The bed was comfortable, the safe deposit box worked, the shower was warm, and the A/C was powerful, so all of our needs were met. An exhaust fan would be a nice addition since the warm humidity + disposal of TP in the trash can made the bathroom a very funky place sometimes!

They have a water cooler in the lobby where you can refill your water bottles. It was much appreciated. I believe it was 200 colones per fill (~40 cents), not $2, as I've seen on some reviews. The staff were nice, though not always available. There is a night watchman every night and an intimidating watch dog. Make sure he smells you when you first arrive so that he doesn't try to scare you off later!

We would definitely stay here again. Reasonable rates, unbeatable beauty.

Room Tip: I would probably go for room 5, if that's in your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed in room #5 for a few nights of our honeymoon. Absolutely beautiful. The entire hotel is constructed of beautiful wood. Each morning fresh flowers were placed outside our room, and on the tables below where they serve breakfast. The breakfast was delicious. The grounds of the hotel are really beautiful, plenty of hammocks for relaxing, and great views of the rocky coastline. No swimming pool here, but don't miss the large tidepool! Playa de los artistas is about a hundred yards away, and is a really great place to eat. The hike to the montezuma waterfalls starts right behond Amor de Mar, and if you walk carefully up the creek, you will arrive at the first waterfall in about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amor de Mar is located on the Pacific Ocean next to the river in Montezuma. Planted in a natural paradise, a few miles from the Cabo Blanco National Park. Our hotel offers 9 cozy and individually styled rooms and two beach villas, Casa Luna and Casa Sol, overlooking the Pacific Ocean. All the rooms have A/C, private bathroom with hot water and a mini fridge. The beach villas are fully equipped but NOT A/C. All the rooms and beach villas have a safe deposit box and WiFi is available in the hotel property. The hotel is within a five minute walk from the picturesque beach town of Montezuma at the tip of the Nicoya Peninsula in Costa Rica, Central America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Amor de Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.