We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - book ahead!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amor de Mar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Amor de Mar
Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place - book ahead!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Very nice place just outside the Montezuma center, a 5-10 minute walk to the south. They have many different options depending on your preferred standard, from 40 USD w/o AC up to over 100 USD for cabinas with view. Front lawn faces the ocean and there is a natural tide water pool for cooling off. The town beach is in the village center, further northwest are other beaches, around a 20 min walk away. Breakfast is not included but available "a la carte" in the morning.

Friendly and helpful staff - especially the night guard!

Don't miss restaurante a las artistas about 5 min. walk from Amor del mar. Beutiful views and lovely food.

Would definitely stay at Amor de Mar again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    130
    58
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
120
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011 via mobile

Lovely, simple, nice atmosphere. Amazing views! Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

What I loved about this hotel was the view, hammocks and chilled out feel- the ou. Only thing I wasn't impressed with some of the staff.. Some were ok but others could be really offish. They would be stood for ages chatted and then look annoyed that you interrupted them to ask them for something.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011 via mobile

I have to concur with previous reviews that this hotel is on a great property- right on the ocean (though you can't swim there, too rocky). Lots of chairs and hammocks complete the beachy scene.

However, we were in a nicer room (#9) and even though we checked in late so plenty of time was allowed to set up the room, the sheets on both beds felt "wet." Gross. This is probably due to the lack of windows- there are only wooden bars with chicken- wire screening over them to keep out bugs and it is super humid. The towels in the bathroom smelled like mold and there was an awesome sewage- like smell coming from the shower drain.

Price does not include breakfast, which is about $14pp. Love the location, but the smell of the room and the wet sheets definitely soiled our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

I love this place, spent 4 nights in one of the two beautiful houses.

Pros -
Absolutely beautiful location with gardens, ocean view, and an awesome tide pool for swimming.
Price is quiet fair for what you get.
Tasty breakfast.
Houses are wonderful, spacious, with great decor, and amenities.

Cons -
Staff is pretty good, but at times a little overbearing. A security guard asked us to be quiet one night at 10 PM, but the night before I heard loud people at the hotel around midnight. This also happened to me the last time I stayed here.
AC would be nice, it gets hot here.
Breakfast not included, and the $15 Sunday breakfast buffet seemed to be overpriced.

My cons may seem a little harsh, but they are kind of nitpicking, I really love this place, and was a bit sad when it became time to leave.

Room Tip: If you are with a group, consider the houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We only stayed one night here because the room we wanted was only available for one night. Here's what we liked:
- the view and landscaping was stunning - some of the most beautiful i've seen in costa rica - right on the ocean
- the service was great - Corina was very nice, as was the security man who let us into our room (we arrived late)
- the room & shared bathroom were nice, and clean
- location: nice and close to the waterfall hike (right across the street!)
- location: quiet, as you're just a tiny bit out of town

The only things that we would have improved are:
- our room was a bit small - for the same price we had a MUCH larger room, with private bathroom, at a different place the next night
- no communal kitchen - this was something we really needed as we were trying to save money

Overall we really loved it and wished we could've stayed longer! The view was really amazing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

A beautiful gem in Costa Rica! We stayed in room #9 and would recommend paying a few extra dollars for a room facing the water. It's a very beautiful, casual and relaxing environment. Montezuma is a great litle town with really good places to eat! We liked Montezuma better than Santa Teresa since it offered a lot more for us. A tip - we called ahead and had the hotel arrange a taxi to pick us up at the airport(landing strip) which was helpful. Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amor de Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amor de Mar

Also Known As:
Amor De Mar Puntarenas
Amor De Mar Hotel
Address: Apartado 24 Cobano, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Montezuma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amor de Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Amor de Mar to your Saves list