We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalows are nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
World
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bungalows are nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Pros: Monkeys and other wildlife are abundant on the property grounds. Bungalows are built up on the hills and have a nice fresh breeze going through them. The porch on the bungalow has rocking chairs and a hammock, great place to relax and watch the waves of the ocean through the palm trees. Hotel is located a 10 minute walk from town, so no noise from the bars and parties. The pool was clean and had a view of the ocean, however the waterfall was not working...

Cons: Beds are extremely uncomfortable; I would wake up at 5:30am every morning just because I could not lay on that mattress any longer! No hand towels or other amenities are provided except for a normal towel and a small bar of soap. Lighting in the bungalow is very dim. When I read the description, I imagined the bungalows actually on the beach, but they are set across the road from the beach, up the hill, it is about a 2 minute walk. WiFi signal only reaches the reception area and they turn it off at night; so if you need internet access anytime between 8pm to 8am, you are out of luck! They do not have coffee pots, or any other food/drink items available at all; so if you want coffee or a bottle of water it is 10 minute walk into town. The grounds were in need of cleaning, lots of leaves piled around and the grass was dry and dead.

Overall: I enjoyed my stay and would probably return!

Room Tip: The main hotel is a basic cheap place, the bungalows are much more private and feel cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
18
61
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

2 weeks ago we stayed 4 nights in Los Mangos.
It is a really nice place to stay. And maybe the nicest in town. We visit a lot of accomodations and we found this one the nicest.
The bungalows are really nice with bathroom inside.
And the big plus is the awesome swimmingpool.

Very friendly owner and staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Boyfriend and I stayed in Bungalow #13. All of the bungalows are set just far enough apart that you feel like you have tons of privacy. Took a swim in the pool early in the morning, grounds are so peaceful and welcoming it was hard not to watch the sun rise from the pool which also over looks the ocean. Security was in parking lot one evening when we returned from a late ATV outing just to make sure we had a room on site and made us feel like our belongings were safe. Room was clean and tidy with fluffy large towels fresh each day. Bathroom was a bit small but functional for just the 2 of us. Rocking chairs and hammock on front porch were thoroughly utilized by us both days we stayed. Owner was drinking coffee both morning I walked down to front office to log into internet, he was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again for sure

Room Tip: BUNGALOW! The only way to go at this place. No AC here but there was a ceiling fan and small oscul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The bungalows are a very nice concept. You can see monkeys in the garden and hear the waves. The room itself is nothing special. Bathrooms were a 1 star rating.

You need two fans going to stay cool during the night inside the room.

Front desk staff is nice but not very helpful.

I found the price high for what they offer.



Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights as we wanted to be close to montezuma yoga to do a DIY retreat (which is on the premise and just fantastic in every way!) If you plan on doing the same, I do believe this is the best spot to stay for it, no excuses not to go and it just makes it easy. First the pros - the bungalows are just great, they are privately scattered amongst the property with ocean glimpses, they have a great timber balcony with rocking chairs and a hammock for reading, and they are extremely cool being in the shade. The bathroom is very average, the rest of the room is clean and simple and I loved the timber cladding throughout it's very rustic and a unique type of accommodation. The pool area is great as it's large and overlooks the ocean. The location is perfect, a short walk into the town and far enough out to be quiet. You had to sit on the reception balcony to get wifi, which was sometimes annoying as we needed it to book the next leg of our trip, but at the same time it was a welcome break from it. We originally booked the beachfront apartment but once we saw the bungalows they kindly swapped us. However the next morning we were told the bungalow we were staying in was booked and that we had to move to the beachfront apartment. We stayed on the ground floor and it was not for us at all, extremely loud due to the loud noises from every step on the floor above. We asked if there was any way to move back to a bungalow and they did that for us. The owner was so accommodating and a really nice guy. Overall I loved my stay there in the bungalow, but there is a huge difference between the two types of accommodation.

Room Tip: Bungalow for a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow City, Alabama United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Memorable and romantic. We liked it so much we stayed two nights. The rooms are quaint, cute, adequate but certainly not luxurious. There is no AC, but there is both a ceiling fan and a stand-up fan, and we needed both! Bathroom is nice with a good shower and hot water. It's open-air style, with no glass in the windows. Each cabin has a safe, which is quite handy. There's two beds, a single and a double. Front porch was great, with two rockers and a hammock, and lovely views of the tropical jungle. The cabins are spread apart at least 50 feet, so it's quite private. The grounds were beautifully planted, and very well-kept. Pool was very nice, and overlooked the ocean across the street. We had a car, but if you're afoot it's a perfect place to stay, less than 1/4 mile walk to town (really just around the corner) and very quiet, away from the bars & noise. Right across the street from the best restaurant in town, and only a few hundred yards from the beginning of the trail to the waterfall. The owner, who came from Greece about 20 years ago, is a very friendly and helpful fellow. Only complaint is the beds, which were pretty hard! Other than that it was perfect, and a place I'll always remember.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

If it's about price only you will be fine, at Los Mangos.
It's as clean as can be expected from a run down facility.
The location is great. The pool was a bit cloudy, and the grounds not well attended to. Wifi only available at the reception bungalow, the hotel has no place to purchase anything... 1/4 mile to town should you wish a bottle of water! Basically it's basic.... But acceptable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.