We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The bungalows are a very nice concept. You can see monkeys in the garden and hear the waves. The room itself is nothing special. Bathrooms were a 1 star rating.

You need two fans going to stay cool during the night inside the room.

Front desk staff is nice but not very helpful.

I found the price high for what they offer.



Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    64
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
18
61
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights as we wanted to be close to montezuma yoga to do a DIY retreat (which is on the premise and just fantastic in every way!) If you plan on doing the same, I do believe this is the best spot to stay for it, no excuses not to go and it just makes it easy. First the pros - the bungalows are just great, they are privately scattered amongst the property with ocean glimpses, they have a great timber balcony with rocking chairs and a hammock for reading, and they are extremely cool being in the shade. The bathroom is very average, the rest of the room is clean and simple and I loved the timber cladding throughout it's very rustic and a unique type of accommodation. The pool area is great as it's large and overlooks the ocean. The location is perfect, a short walk into the town and far enough out to be quiet. You had to sit on the reception balcony to get wifi, which was sometimes annoying as we needed it to book the next leg of our trip, but at the same time it was a welcome break from it. We originally booked the beachfront apartment but once we saw the bungalows they kindly swapped us. However the next morning we were told the bungalow we were staying in was booked and that we had to move to the beachfront apartment. We stayed on the ground floor and it was not for us at all, extremely loud due to the loud noises from every step on the floor above. We asked if there was any way to move back to a bungalow and they did that for us. The owner was so accommodating and a really nice guy. Overall I loved my stay there in the bungalow, but there is a huge difference between the two types of accommodation.

Room Tip: Bungalow for a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow City, Alabama United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Memorable and romantic. We liked it so much we stayed two nights. The rooms are quaint, cute, adequate but certainly not luxurious. There is no AC, but there is both a ceiling fan and a stand-up fan, and we needed both! Bathroom is nice with a good shower and hot water. It's open-air style, with no glass in the windows. Each cabin has a safe, which is quite handy. There's two beds, a single and a double. Front porch was great, with two rockers and a hammock, and lovely views of the tropical jungle. The cabins are spread apart at least 50 feet, so it's quite private. The grounds were beautifully planted, and very well-kept. Pool was very nice, and overlooked the ocean across the street. We had a car, but if you're afoot it's a perfect place to stay, less than 1/4 mile walk to town (really just around the corner) and very quiet, away from the bars & noise. Right across the street from the best restaurant in town, and only a few hundred yards from the beginning of the trail to the waterfall. The owner, who came from Greece about 20 years ago, is a very friendly and helpful fellow. Only complaint is the beds, which were pretty hard! Other than that it was perfect, and a place I'll always remember.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

If it's about price only you will be fine, at Los Mangos.
It's as clean as can be expected from a run down facility.
The location is great. The pool was a bit cloudy, and the grounds not well attended to. Wifi only available at the reception bungalow, the hotel has no place to purchase anything... 1/4 mile to town should you wish a bottle of water! Basically it's basic.... But acceptable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I recently did the Montezuma Yoga and wellness package in the Los Mangos Hotel. I’d read much positive feedback on Tripadvisor and after ten days there, I can definitely confirm that it is an inspiring and deeply enriching experience. With their beautiful setting, the Los Mangos rustic wooden bungalows are simply comfortable and nicely decorated with nice exotic touches. With its eco-friendly features, the hotel, perfectly integrated in its natural surroundings, is definitely perfect for experiencing a true immersion in nature among the birds, monkeys, and reptiles. Waking up to the sound of waves and birds, starting the day with a yoga session is truly regenerating. Having a delicious organic breakfast at Amor de mar, while enjoying the incredible view of the ocean, is inspiring... Spending the day discovering the many natural features or beaches by foot, reading a book lying in a hammock under a palm tree or writing my dairies is fulfilling! Dagmar is a wonderful host, making sure everyone feels welcome, adjusting her yoga teaching to all levels, her calm and assertive energy is a wonderful guide and support! Silvia is an excellent teacher with lots of positive and refreshing energy! The evening sessions are beautiful with candlelight and the amazingly relaxing music by Daniel playing on the magic Hang! I really recommend downloading Gaudan’s music! Along with this wonderful team, I must recommend the relaxing massage of Cordula and her helpful advice. The hotel team did an excellent job, the bungalow was always clean, Yajaira at the reception is most helpful and welcoming, Costas the owner and Johnny the driver are friendly and very nice people, a real family atmosphere!

A few practical advises: a head lamp can be useful in the evenings since bungalow lighting is of low intensity (to keep away bugs) so it can become quite dark. Amphibious footwear can be practical for the rocky beaches. Ear plugs can help if you are staying in a bungalow near the pool as on some occasions it can become somewhat noisy quite late in the evening (10-11pm).

Thanks to all, I will definitely return!
Rafik

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice for a total of 3 weeks all together. I'm a budget traveler but like a certain level of creature comforts and this place is wonderful in enough areas that I overlook the areas that may be less than perfect. I do yoga...my son swims in their sweet pool that over looks the ocean. The yoga is world class. In a town with not a lot of room, the open grounds are a breath of air and it's nicely laid out. I like the main building because of the open porch and ease of connecting with other travelers. The walk to town is the perfect distance.. Not to far but far enough on loud nights in town. The owner and staff are welcoming and they clean your room every day. In a perfect world there would be coffee in the morning, the staff would speak English, and yes there would be curtains that cover the windows but I cover the window with a sarong, practice my Spanish, and go across the street for an amazing breakfast. If you're a flexible traveler, this may be a good place for you too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A lovely hotel set just back from the ocean and I am maybe being overly critical, because I think with a few minor adjustments it could go from being 'very good' to 'perfection'! I stayed in the main block (rather than the bungalows). The room was pretty small, which was fine, but it would have been nice to have slightly better chosen furniture- there was a bed and a cupboard for clothes but apart from that only a really small stand/bedside table in the corner, so I had to put most of my belongings on the floor. Also no hooks to hang towels or wet costumes, which was a bit tricky after a long day at the beach. Both the room and shared bathroom were cleaned on a daily basis.The hotel grounds are outstanding- lush vegetation, and lots of wildlife, and the pool area is great- set in a lovely garden with a very chilled-out iguana who will sunbathe alongside you! You can hear the sound of the ocean, crickets and monkeys from your room at night. If you are into yoga, then the daily yoga classes ( you can pay per class or get a package) are great- set in a beautiful studio above the pool area, but be warned- it can get very sweaty! I think another small addition that would make this hotel not just good but great would to have more communal areas. If you have one of the 'back' rooms, as I did, there was no where to sit outside in the evening. Perhaps because of the yoga, there were a lot of single female travelers, and it would have been good to have somewhere to hang out together 'on-site' in the evenings, rather than always having to go into the main town. Also another small thing, which would make a huge difference is to have some kind of lift service into the main town/bus stop when arriving and leaving- it is only a few hundred metres or so, which is fine if strolling to the beach, but if you don't have your own transport, wheeling/carrying luggage over bumpy roads is not ideal. Anyway, all these criticisms are minor and all in all it is a great place to stay, for a bit of chill-out and beach time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list