We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were in rooms, view was great, rooms were not so great but for 15 dollars they were ok. Few times frog got into our room, that is maybe a problem for people who dont like frogs. pool was ok, people who work there were great, but maybe they should learn to speak english better.

Room Tip: go to bungalows, the are a little bit cheaper but better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
18
62
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I just returned from a week-long yoga retreat at Hotel Los Mangos in Montezuma, Costa Rica. AMAZING! The location was only a 10-minute stroll to town; great ocean view from our room; naturalistic yoga room; and wonderful staff. Our rooms were charming, rustic & simple - exactly what we needed. Dagmar did a wonderful job in coordinating our excusions and meals with neighboring businesses and restaurants! The meals were fresh, healthy & delicious - sea bass, snapper, tuna, veggies & fruit. The sites and sounds of this magical place nourished my mind, body & soul: beautiful mango trees, monkeys, iguana, butterflies, birds, insects, plants & waves that kissed the shore. It was exciting, yet peaceful. An ecclectic and lovely group of locals. If you want to truly experience Costa Rica, nature & yoga, and nourish your soul, this is the place!

Christine R.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just spent a fantastic week at the beach with my family. Hotel Los Mangos was the ideal location. An easy walk into town, but away from the immediate activity. Our room in the main building was crisp and clean, spare furnishings, very comfortable beds. Fans, mini fridge and safe were very useful and we enjoyed sitting on the porch in the rockers looking at the ocean. Constant sound of the surf was wonderful. The pool and yoga pavillion also have beautiful ocean views. The only downsides to the room were the 40 watt yellow light bulbs. Too dim and too few to read by. Difficult to see in the bathroom also, but we were able to trade for a regular white bulb which helped a lot. Staff and the owner were friendly, available and helpful. Howler monkeys provided daily entertainment. Los Mangos is a perfect place to relax and enjoy time with your family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed over a week, and we loved this spot. Friendly staff, great yoga, great vieuw, loads of mangos... It is in front of the best restaurant of Montezuma, Los Artists...a great location without this american-hotel feeling...

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I just returned from staying at Hotel Los Mangos in Montezuma, Costa Rica and I am already wanting to go back! Of all the places I went in Costa Rica over the 9 days I was there, Hotel Los Mangos was my favorite spot. From the minute we pulled up, I felt relaxed, at peace, and at home. The sweet, rustic bungalows are simple but private, extremely clean and well maintained, and adorable to boot. Even though these is no air conditioning, the fan provided was good and kept us cool -- we'd just take a dip in the beautiful pool down the way whenever we needed to be refreshed. The porches and rocking chairs are awesome too! I could sit for hours reading and listening to the monkeys and the ocean waves. In fact, it's so close to the ocean it's actually kind of loud at night! I also enjoyed a Sunday night yoga class by candelight that was absolutely delightful and restorative. The town is just a short walk away and filled with great food, a cute grocery store with good selection, and tons of interesting, vibrant artist types. Overall, great staff, great stay. I will be back!

Room Tip: Bungalows are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

the location is very nice,close to the beach,centre and waterfall,our bungalow was surrounding by
howler monkey all day,they have a beautyfull swimming poll when you can see the ocean,the staff is very friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived in Montezuma on a friday without a reservation so as you can imagine there was rather slim pickings in the accommodation stakes! We would have preferred to stay in one of the cabins at Los Mangos but ended up with the last room in the main house. The location is spot on - out of town right next to the ocean and the pool is beautiful - at night you can hear the waves crashing and also the sounds of the jungle. However the room for the price we paid ($75 a night) is a bit lacking - it is very noisy from the other rooms, there is no air con but only a fan so at night it is absolutely BOILING!! and also no TV so compared to other places we have stayed for the same price the facilities are a tad lacking. We also got invaded by flying ants but I think that was just one of those things! We still had a lovely time though and Montezuma is the best but the rooms could defo do with a couple of extras!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.