We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nourishment for the soul....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list
Hotel Los Mangos
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
“Nourishment for the soul....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I just returned from a week-long yoga retreat at Hotel Los Mangos in Montezuma, Costa Rica. AMAZING! The location was only a 10-minute stroll to town; great ocean view from our room; naturalistic yoga room; and wonderful staff. Our rooms were charming, rustic & simple - exactly what we needed. Dagmar did a wonderful job in coordinating our excusions and meals with neighboring businesses and restaurants! The meals were fresh, healthy & delicious - sea bass, snapper, tuna, veggies & fruit. The sites and sounds of this magical place nourished my mind, body & soul: beautiful mango trees, monkeys, iguana, butterflies, birds, insects, plants & waves that kissed the shore. It was exciting, yet peaceful. An ecclectic and lovely group of locals. If you want to truly experience Costa Rica, nature & yoga, and nourish your soul, this is the place!

Christine R.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just spent a fantastic week at the beach with my family. Hotel Los Mangos was the ideal location. An easy walk into town, but away from the immediate activity. Our room in the main building was crisp and clean, spare furnishings, very comfortable beds. Fans, mini fridge and safe were very useful and we enjoyed sitting on the porch in the rockers looking at the ocean. Constant sound of the surf was wonderful. The pool and yoga pavillion also have beautiful ocean views. The only downsides to the room were the 40 watt yellow light bulbs. Too dim and too few to read by. Difficult to see in the bathroom also, but we were able to trade for a regular white bulb which helped a lot. Staff and the owner were friendly, available and helpful. Howler monkeys provided daily entertainment. Los Mangos is a perfect place to relax and enjoy time with your family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed over a week, and we loved this spot. Friendly staff, great yoga, great vieuw, loads of mangos... It is in front of the best restaurant of Montezuma, Los Artists...a great location without this american-hotel feeling...

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AnneM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I just returned from staying at Hotel Los Mangos in Montezuma, Costa Rica and I am already wanting to go back! Of all the places I went in Costa Rica over the 9 days I was there, Hotel Los Mangos was my favorite spot. From the minute we pulled up, I felt relaxed, at peace, and at home. The sweet, rustic bungalows are simple but private, extremely clean and well maintained, and adorable to boot. Even though these is no air conditioning, the fan provided was good and kept us cool -- we'd just take a dip in the beautiful pool down the way whenever we needed to be refreshed. The porches and rocking chairs are awesome too! I could sit for hours reading and listening to the monkeys and the ocean waves. In fact, it's so close to the ocean it's actually kind of loud at night! I also enjoyed a Sunday night yoga class by candelight that was absolutely delightful and restorative. The town is just a short walk away and filled with great food, a cute grocery store with good selection, and tons of interesting, vibrant artist types. Overall, great staff, great stay. I will be back!

Room Tip: Bungalows are the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

the location is very nice,close to the beach,centre and waterfall,our bungalow was surrounding by
howler monkey all day,they have a beautyfull swimming poll when you can see the ocean,the staff is very friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank viajeros625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived in Montezuma on a friday without a reservation so as you can imagine there was rather slim pickings in the accommodation stakes! We would have preferred to stay in one of the cabins at Los Mangos but ended up with the last room in the main house. The location is spot on - out of town right next to the ocean and the pool is beautiful - at night you can hear the waves crashing and also the sounds of the jungle. However the room for the price we paid ($75 a night) is a bit lacking - it is very noisy from the other rooms, there is no air con but only a fan so at night it is absolutely BOILING!! and also no TV so compared to other places we have stayed for the same price the facilities are a tad lacking. We also got invaded by flying ants but I think that was just one of those things! We still had a lovely time though and Montezuma is the best but the rooms could defo do with a couple of extras!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LauraW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Los Mangos could not be in a better location. It is across the street from the ocean (the beach is mostly rocky right near the hotel but beautiful sand beaches are not far away), a short walk into town and extremely close to a three level waterfall that can be reached by a short hike. The restaurant itself doesn't have a restaurant but a wonderful breakfast place at the Hotel Amor del Mar and an amazing dinner place, Playa de los Artistas, are extremely close. The hotel has a lovely pool and a great yoga pavilion perched on a hill so you can see the ocean and hear the waves during your practice. Los Mangos is by no means a luxury hotel and the rooms are extremely basic. There is, of course, no air conditioning and a very sensitive pluming system but that is not at all unusual for many inexpensive hotels in the area. Our only issue was that the hotel's teenaged security team (the town is very safe so they don't need much more than a couple of teenage security guards wandering around) made a whole bunch of noise on our porch one night for no clear reason. Mostly, Los Mangos is clean, convenient and very laid back not to mention very very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We needed a room for three people so we stayed on the second floor of the main building instead of i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#8 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#16 of 19 in Montezuma
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
0.0 mi away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 2 in Cabuya
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Los Mangos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing