We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“good time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

the location is very nice,close to the beach,centre and waterfall,our bungalow was surrounding by
howler monkey all day,they have a beautyfull swimming poll when you can see the ocean,the staff is very friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    63
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
18
58
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived in Montezuma on a friday without a reservation so as you can imagine there was rather slim pickings in the accommodation stakes! We would have preferred to stay in one of the cabins at Los Mangos but ended up with the last room in the main house. The location is spot on - out of town right next to the ocean and the pool is beautiful - at night you can hear the waves crashing and also the sounds of the jungle. However the room for the price we paid ($75 a night) is a bit lacking - it is very noisy from the other rooms, there is no air con but only a fan so at night it is absolutely BOILING!! and also no TV so compared to other places we have stayed for the same price the facilities are a tad lacking. We also got invaded by flying ants but I think that was just one of those things! We still had a lovely time though and Montezuma is the best but the rooms could defo do with a couple of extras!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Los Mangos could not be in a better location. It is across the street from the ocean (the beach is mostly rocky right near the hotel but beautiful sand beaches are not far away), a short walk into town and extremely close to a three level waterfall that can be reached by a short hike. The restaurant itself doesn't have a restaurant but a wonderful breakfast place at the Hotel Amor del Mar and an amazing dinner place, Playa de los Artistas, are extremely close. The hotel has a lovely pool and a great yoga pavilion perched on a hill so you can see the ocean and hear the waves during your practice. Los Mangos is by no means a luxury hotel and the rooms are extremely basic. There is, of course, no air conditioning and a very sensitive pluming system but that is not at all unusual for many inexpensive hotels in the area. Our only issue was that the hotel's teenaged security team (the town is very safe so they don't need much more than a couple of teenage security guards wandering around) made a whole bunch of noise on our porch one night for no clear reason. Mostly, Los Mangos is clean, convenient and very laid back not to mention very very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We needed a room for three people so we stayed on the second floor of the main building instead of i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delicias, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was ok für a few day of staying. There was no moskito net and no cofemachine which would have made our vacationdays a little nicer. Animals, like the little monkeys where not fare away from the window.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow higher up from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Little place for great experience. We arrive to Los Mangos in pursuit of peaceful place to stay, and didn´t dissapoint us. The pool are beatiful, and the accomodatios good. The walk to the town was short and safe.

The staff was very friendly, and the rates very low. A place to return! Our only complain was the "hot" water in the shower, barelly warm, would be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hola from Hotel Los Mangos and thank you for your review. We are glad you liked your stay with us and sorry about your experience with the hot water...We are wondering which room did you stay in and did you say anything to reception about it? We have a hot water heater in every room/bungalow, but they need to be switched on next to the bathroom mirror....then it takes about 30 sec for the hot water to be working and it's normally really hot.....so i hope you didn't miss switching on the water? we have them switched on and off in order to preserve energy as they otherwise would be running and heating all the time.....
wishing you a great time wherever you are now and hope to see you again some time in the future....with sunny regards from Montezuma, Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Tucked into a forested mountain side of Mango trees, you will find Hotel Los Mangos.
It is a very well maintained yet rustic environment to escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.
From my private bungalow, I fell asleep at night listening to the sound of the crashing waves on the beach, awoke to the sounds of Howler monkeys, and spent hours sitting on the porch reading and absorbing the sounds of nature all around me.
My 10 days there were spent exploring the numerous beaches along the coastline, chatting with the local artisans in Montezuma (which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel) and taking in the general beauty and wonder of this magical place.
Hotel Los Mangos was the perfect choice, as it provided exactly the kind of getaway I was in search of...(No television and no phones), The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful.
In addition to the beautiful pool, which sits high on the hillside overlooking the ocean, you will find Montezuma Yoga's 'open air' studio... a place to lose and find yourself all at once.
As a solo female traveler, I felt safe everywhere I went and I intend to return at the end of the year to further explore everything this beautiful place has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great place with comfortable cabanas. The pool was nice. The hotel wasn't as nice as the cabanas.
Right across the street from the best resturant in the country.
It was very calm and quiet.
It was well maintained.
Mucuvv

Room Tip: The individual cabanas are worth the extra 15 dollars over the hotel. Overall this was a very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma
Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Montezuma
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list