We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalow im Mangohain (Jahr 2011)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Save
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Delicias, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bungalow im Mangohain (Jahr 2011)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Was ok für a few day of staying. There was no moskito net and no cofemachine which would have made our vacationdays a little nicer. Animals, like the little monkeys where not fare away from the window.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow higher up from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    66
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
18
64
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Little place for great experience. We arrive to Los Mangos in pursuit of peaceful place to stay, and didn´t dissapoint us. The pool are beatiful, and the accomodatios good. The walk to the town was short and safe.

The staff was very friendly, and the rates very low. A place to return! Our only complain was the "hot" water in the shower, barelly warm, would be better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Hola from Hotel Los Mangos and thank you for your review. We are glad you liked your stay with us and sorry about your experience with the hot water...We are wondering which room did you stay in and did you say anything to reception about it? We have a hot water heater in every room/bungalow, but they need to be switched on next to the bathroom mirror....then it takes about 30 sec for the hot water to be working and it's normally really hot.....so i hope you didn't miss switching on the water? we have them switched on and off in order to preserve energy as they otherwise would be running and heating all the time.....
wishing you a great time wherever you are now and hope to see you again some time in the future....with sunny regards from Montezuma, Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Tucked into a forested mountain side of Mango trees, you will find Hotel Los Mangos.
It is a very well maintained yet rustic environment to escape from the hustle and bustle of city life.
From my private bungalow, I fell asleep at night listening to the sound of the crashing waves on the beach, awoke to the sounds of Howler monkeys, and spent hours sitting on the porch reading and absorbing the sounds of nature all around me.
My 10 days there were spent exploring the numerous beaches along the coastline, chatting with the local artisans in Montezuma (which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel) and taking in the general beauty and wonder of this magical place.
Hotel Los Mangos was the perfect choice, as it provided exactly the kind of getaway I was in search of...(No television and no phones), The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful.
In addition to the beautiful pool, which sits high on the hillside overlooking the ocean, you will find Montezuma Yoga's 'open air' studio... a place to lose and find yourself all at once.
As a solo female traveler, I felt safe everywhere I went and I intend to return at the end of the year to further explore everything this beautiful place has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great place with comfortable cabanas. The pool was nice. The hotel wasn't as nice as the cabanas.
Right across the street from the best resturant in the country.
It was very calm and quiet.
It was well maintained.
Mucuvv

Room Tip: The individual cabanas are worth the extra 15 dollars over the hotel. Overall this was a very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed in a cute cabana at Hotel Los Mangos for seven nights while attending Montezuma Yoga. The setting was very beautiful right in a grove of mango trees, so lots of monkey viewing and falling asleep to the sound of the ocean was very enjoyable. Comfortable bed in a lovely wood cabana, close to great restaurants and the town of Montezuma, couldn't ask for more! Planning to return again next year to enjoy more Costa Rican hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent a week in the Hotel Los Mangos this Feb. The hotel has several strong positive points, but as well, few areas needs improvement.
It is hard to compare Los Mangos to other hotels in Costa Rica, as this was the only one we’ve been to, but for USD75 per room, I would imagine a bit more. So the positive about this hotel – definitely location, nature around and ocean view - stunning, as well as the pool area is very clean and relaxing. The room was a bit older, but very clean (cleaners are doing really good job there), spacious and beds are comfy. As it was mentioned on Tripadvisor earlier, we felt that service at the reception could be better. The receptionist in general answered all our questions, but wasn’t too proactive and she didn’t really try to help, even if we asked for a cup of hot water in the morning. One of the weakest points we felt was lack of internet connection. We were on the road for 3 weeks and staying in touch with our families was quite important to us. The signal is ok only around reception and when we sat at a table there, we were asked to leave, as that was hotel’s office. As well we couldn’t connect after 11pm as all was shut down. Again, a problem giving the time zone difference. So overall, we had a good time there, but I guess it was because it is hard not to have a good time in Costa Rica. I think I would check further options before booking a room there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for the first night of a two night stay in Montezuma. The room was clean and adequate, the grounds are well maintained and the view of the ocean is magnificent. We both enjoyed swimming in the small but very picturesque pool. The owner, who I met the next morning was friendly and helpful with advice about roads, restaurants, etc. Unfortunately, the staff at check-in and through the evening were cold and uninterested in the guests. Our Spanish isn't the best, but it was perfectly adequate everywhere else we went in CR. Internet access is only available near the reception desk, and I was surprised when just before eleven, when we were sitting there, the receptionist (possibly because her friends had left for the evening) shut off the lights and abruptly left without a word. My husband and I were pretty amused. "Guess it's bedtime," we said, but went to swim in the pool instead. Rather than staying for another night, we went into town and got a room for $30/night less. Not quite so pretty, perhaps, but the people were friendly, and we didn't feel like we were a nuisance to the staff. A noticeable exception was the lady who came to clean the area outside the room; she smiled and was very pleasant. It seemed a shame that such an aesthetically pleasing place left us with a slightly negative feeling. No worries though - we got positive again very quickly! I love Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hola from Hotel Los Mangos and thank you for your review....we are sorry you had such a unpleasant experience with our receptionist, we are always dedicated to serve you as best we can! We take the feedback of our guests very serious and have hired a new receptionist for the evening shift since there were quite a few complaints lately about the evening shift......We hope this will change the experience for all our new arriving guests and wish all of our guests a very pleasant and relaxed stay with us. So again thanks for sharing and we hope you will come and stay with us again next time :) all the best and sunny regards Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.