We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still space for improvement…” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Save
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Dublin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Still space for improvement…”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent a week in the Hotel Los Mangos this Feb. The hotel has several strong positive points, but as well, few areas needs improvement.
It is hard to compare Los Mangos to other hotels in Costa Rica, as this was the only one we’ve been to, but for USD75 per room, I would imagine a bit more. So the positive about this hotel – definitely location, nature around and ocean view - stunning, as well as the pool area is very clean and relaxing. The room was a bit older, but very clean (cleaners are doing really good job there), spacious and beds are comfy. As it was mentioned on Tripadvisor earlier, we felt that service at the reception could be better. The receptionist in general answered all our questions, but wasn’t too proactive and she didn’t really try to help, even if we asked for a cup of hot water in the morning. One of the weakest points we felt was lack of internet connection. We were on the road for 3 weeks and staying in touch with our families was quite important to us. The signal is ok only around reception and when we sat at a table there, we were asked to leave, as that was hotel’s office. As well we couldn’t connect after 11pm as all was shut down. Again, a problem giving the time zone difference. So overall, we had a good time there, but I guess it was because it is hard not to have a good time in Costa Rica. I think I would check further options before booking a room there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    66
    26
    14
    16
See reviews for
18
64
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for the first night of a two night stay in Montezuma. The room was clean and adequate, the grounds are well maintained and the view of the ocean is magnificent. We both enjoyed swimming in the small but very picturesque pool. The owner, who I met the next morning was friendly and helpful with advice about roads, restaurants, etc. Unfortunately, the staff at check-in and through the evening were cold and uninterested in the guests. Our Spanish isn't the best, but it was perfectly adequate everywhere else we went in CR. Internet access is only available near the reception desk, and I was surprised when just before eleven, when we were sitting there, the receptionist (possibly because her friends had left for the evening) shut off the lights and abruptly left without a word. My husband and I were pretty amused. "Guess it's bedtime," we said, but went to swim in the pool instead. Rather than staying for another night, we went into town and got a room for $30/night less. Not quite so pretty, perhaps, but the people were friendly, and we didn't feel like we were a nuisance to the staff. A noticeable exception was the lady who came to clean the area outside the room; she smiled and was very pleasant. It seemed a shame that such an aesthetically pleasing place left us with a slightly negative feeling. No worries though - we got positive again very quickly! I love Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hola from Hotel Los Mangos and thank you for your review....we are sorry you had such a unpleasant experience with our receptionist, we are always dedicated to serve you as best we can! We take the feedback of our guests very serious and have hired a new receptionist for the evening shift since there were quite a few complaints lately about the evening shift......We hope this will change the experience for all our new arriving guests and wish all of our guests a very pleasant and relaxed stay with us. So again thanks for sharing and we hope you will come and stay with us again next time :) all the best and sunny regards Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great place and very quiet, great pool and jacuzzi, we stayed 6 days in bungalow, clean rooms, full of monkeys and mango trees, ocean view, very friendly owner, five minutes walk from Montezuma village and within walking distance of two beaches. The right place for the right money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I travelled allover the world allready , but this place has something really special! Starting from the spot inside pure nature with monkeys all around and the beautifull ocean right in front over the cosy clean rooms up to the great pool and jacuzy . The village is 5 min walking , as well as the beaches and waterfalls , the best restaurant in town is opposite! The owners are greek and very charmy and helpfull ! I stayed much longer than I had planned , because they even offering Yogaclasses with oceanview, excellent ! I had the best holidays in a long Time and for a reasonable Price ! Pura Vida ! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I loved it! I stayed in a bungalow amongst a mango grove. I had a few bugs in my room, but what else should one expect in the heart of the jungle. The owner informed me that they don't like using pesticides for enviromental purposes and I thought that was totally reasonable. I just made one with my tiny jungle guest;) The showers were big and the hot water was a welcoming relief after my previous hotel with ice cold water. I was able to lock up my passport in the safe instead of having to try and find a hiding spot or carry it. The receptionist and owner gave me great tips on what to do and where to eat and the sunset yoga was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is a dump!

The sheets are thread-bare, mattresses are lumpy, plumbing not working, ants throughout, safe that is confusing to work, drapes do not cover the windows, lighting inadequate and lack of electrical plugs.

The manager was indifferent and the owner does not seem to care about these issues....people still come (the dumb or uninformed ones, that is).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hola from Hotel Los Mangos, we are sorry to read about your unpleasant stay with us and surprised you didn't come and talk to us to help us make your stay more comfortable. Not sure what you have expected, but as you can see in other reviews we are very much dedicated to give our guests a good service, so they can relax and enjoy their time. We are in the jungle, so certain issues like a few ants or bugs can't be avoided, on the other hand you will see lots of wildlife in our property like monkeys, agoutis, iguanas which makes many of our guests return every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel Los Mangos is cute, clean hotel. The rooms were clean, and we had a view of the ocean. It's within walking distance to the center of town, and the ocean. We absolutely loved staying here. If you're looking for fancy, then this isn't the place for you. If you want clean, simple and affordable...go for it. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.