We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mic Tolas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mic Tolas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great place and very quiet, great pool and jacuzzi, we stayed 6 days in bungalow, clean rooms, full of monkeys and mango trees, ocean view, very friendly owner, five minutes walk from Montezuma village and within walking distance of two beaches. The right place for the right money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
18
62
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aachen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I travelled allover the world allready , but this place has something really special! Starting from the spot inside pure nature with monkeys all around and the beautifull ocean right in front over the cosy clean rooms up to the great pool and jacuzy . The village is 5 min walking , as well as the beaches and waterfalls , the best restaurant in town is opposite! The owners are greek and very charmy and helpfull ! I stayed much longer than I had planned , because they even offering Yogaclasses with oceanview, excellent ! I had the best holidays in a long Time and for a reasonable Price ! Pura Vida ! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I loved it! I stayed in a bungalow amongst a mango grove. I had a few bugs in my room, but what else should one expect in the heart of the jungle. The owner informed me that they don't like using pesticides for enviromental purposes and I thought that was totally reasonable. I just made one with my tiny jungle guest;) The showers were big and the hot water was a welcoming relief after my previous hotel with ice cold water. I was able to lock up my passport in the safe instead of having to try and find a hiding spot or carry it. The receptionist and owner gave me great tips on what to do and where to eat and the sunset yoga was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is a dump!

The sheets are thread-bare, mattresses are lumpy, plumbing not working, ants throughout, safe that is confusing to work, drapes do not cover the windows, lighting inadequate and lack of electrical plugs.

The manager was indifferent and the owner does not seem to care about these issues....people still come (the dumb or uninformed ones, that is).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hola from Hotel Los Mangos, we are sorry to read about your unpleasant stay with us and surprised you didn't come and talk to us to help us make your stay more comfortable. Not sure what you have expected, but as you can see in other reviews we are very much dedicated to give our guests a good service, so they can relax and enjoy their time. We are in the jungle, so certain issues like a few ants or bugs can't be avoided, on the other hand you will see lots of wildlife in our property like monkeys, agoutis, iguanas which makes many of our guests return every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel Los Mangos is cute, clean hotel. The rooms were clean, and we had a view of the ocean. It's within walking distance to the center of town, and the ocean. We absolutely loved staying here. If you're looking for fancy, then this isn't the place for you. If you want clean, simple and affordable...go for it. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Thought this would be our dream vacation. Hotel had nice reviews on this site and I was so happy to get reservation during the high season. Then on my first day two people were doing alot of drugs right at the pool!! Immediately went to reception, where a woman with a screaming toddler said so what? I asked for the manager and she said not possible try tomorrow. I said your child is with you and someone at your hotel is doing drugs at the first table in front of the pool, at least 20 minutrs of this went on and judging from the people who walked around him and the people with him I think he was dealing. She said oh ya is your problem.
One hour later and I could not get wifi, and the room- threadbare sheets and a very worn out blanket, curtains not sufficient to actually cover the window, anyone can see in, we checked and every inch of the room is visible and the rooms are on a loud busy road, there is no privacy as the rooms are very very close to each other and you can hear your neighbour's footsteps!!!!! Add to that a safe that does not work and no soap or shampoo. For the high cost of staying here, over $80, there are certain expectations. I write this while the receptionist rocks in a big chair reading a novel with her feet up -ignorance! Drugs being used and dismal accomodations. And one last thing- they overcharge on tours here juat book elsewhere, even the yoga is grossly overpriced. Terrible place!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Los Mangos is in a great location a short walk to the center of the village. We stayed in one of the bungalows, very simple but served us well during our stay. The pool was a nice place to cool off at the end of the day and before changing and getting ready for the evening. The beach was rather rocky and not easy to get into the water without shoes but we found this to be the case for many of the beaches in the area.

Also liked that the rooms had small refrigerators in them. Helped to store snacks and also cold water. Make sure you bring your own shampoo and soap. We received one bar of soap during our stay and it would have been nice if they provided replacements when we were there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.