We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Hut Living” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Save
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Simple Hut Living”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent a week at Los Mongos just on the spring side of wet season. The hut was rustic, but well maintained. We were very damp for the majority of our stay there, but that is life in the wet season.

Our room had a mini fridge, and a decently sized shower. Like a lot of places, there was a breaker switch in the bathroom to turn on the hot water and water pressure for the shower. None of that dangerous "instant heat" scariness.

The pool was beautiful. It overlooked the trees and to the ocean. They also have a yoga studio on site. Quite nice for yoga-surf packages.

The huts sit way back from the road with some trees in between, which is a major benefit. The road is dirt and is highly trafficked by ATVs. So being set back was a nice dirt and noise buffer. The downside of being surrounded by trees is that you can also be surrounded by howler moneys--who can be very loud at about 5AM.

There is no wifi, no restaurant.

Room Tip: They offer both a hotel and huts. Make sure you let them know which you'd prefer. The huts only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    69
    27
    17
    16
See reviews for
20
66
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

In the middle of a mango grove, surrounded by monkeys sat our own private cabina. Had a double bed and a single bed, overhead fan as well as extremely powerful floor fan, mini fridge, deck with rocking chairs and a hammock and full bath with hot water showers! 5 minute walk to town or waterfall and directly across the street from ocean. Daily yoga($14) was great. Loved everything about this place, I spent 2 months traveling costa rica and Nicaragua and this may very well have been my favorite place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will be back one day! All the best to you and kind regards from Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

just returned from a fantastic yoga retreat with some excellent instructors at los mangos. room was simple but very clean and i appriciated the pristine bed sheets and nice towels. the lagoon like pool was sparkling and perfectly set in a naturalistic but nicely maintained garden with shadey mango trees that attracted monkeys to watch while floating around in the late afternoons. great location across the street from a beach, less than 5 min walk to the interesting town, near good resturants

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Schweiz
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

great place, no TV in the bungalow.. good shower.. there is also a pool nearby. friendly staff.. bungalow is clean, has also a little fridge. do not be affraid of the noice from the apes.. there also will fall some mango on your bunglalow.. it's about a 5min. walk to be in montezuma town. the hotel is not right in montezuma. If you like it quiet.. best place to hang, and stay in.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Because the room was only $30 we werent expecting much but were totally blow away by everything we did get. Room was rustic, yet cozy, there's a great pool and it faced the beach. We chose a room with a shared bath but you are only sharing with 1 other room and there's no conflict. On the 2nd floor, there are rockers that face the ocean and you go to sleep hearing the waves crash. It's walking distance to downtown Montezuma and Montezuma Falls. We also stayed at another hotel in Sta Teresa with $80 a night rooms and they didn't come close to being Hotel Los Mangos. Los Mangos is very Costa Rican and very peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

After a lovely week long yoga retreat, I made my way down to the beach town of Montezuma to spend a few more days in Paradise. Los Mangos proved to be the perfect find with its cosy bungalows set in gardens bordering on the jungle. Swimming at the beach was made impossible by the arrival of "red tide" so I made good use of the swimming pool where often I would see some of the local wildlife crossing the grounds - including an armadillo!

The bungalow remained cool with the use of the fan, and the hammock and rocking chairs on the private deck were a perfect spot to read or gaze out at the ocean beyond. The housekeeping services were delightful with fresh fluffy towels every morning folded into the shapes of animals and shells. I particularly appreciated the in room safe and the bar fridge where I kept a supply of local fruits and drinks that I purchased at the market in town. There is no restaurant, but the hotel across the street with lovely ocean views served an awesome breakfast.

Los Mangos is perfectly located just outside of town in tranquil gardens, but still an easy walk to enjoy the shops, restaurants and bars of Montezuma. I was alone, but my $90 a night bungalow would have slept 3. Quite a bargain for a few more days in Paradise!

Room Tip: Select a bungalow near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sandwich, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our group yoga retreat at Los Mangos was wonderful! 13 of us enjoyed the gorgeous yoga studio, the beautiful pool overlooking the pacific, and the location of the hotel, which is just outside of the village of Montezuma. As the retreat leader vacationing along with my family, we stayed in a hotel room, and although it was spacious and clean (4 of us shared), had a private bathroom and hot water (very little pressure), I secretly longed to be in a bungalow all week like the rest of my yogis--who loved their accommodations underneath the mango trees. Howler monkeys woke them at sunrise (they loved this), and agoutis and armadillos roamed the mango grove in between their bungalows. One afternoon, a whole bunch of capuchin monkeys rained fruit down on top of the studio, which stopped class, and we all went running out to see them dropping mangos from the branches. One bungalow had a resident iguana who made his perch on the roof every day, sunning himself in the afternoon. It was a lovely place to stay, and I think all 13 of us would return in a heartbeat!! A special thanks to Dagmar, who helped us arrange our yoga retreat there xo

Room Tip: *The bungalows were simple but lovely--a rustic elegance under the canopy of mango trees! *Water pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.