We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for our yoga retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Mangos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Los Mangos
Save Saved
You added Hotel Los Mangos to your Saves list
Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Montezuma
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect spot for our yoga retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My fellow yoga instructor and I hosted our first international yoga retreat with our retreat company RASA Retreats here this past April. It was the a perfect spot for us. The rustic, simple and quaint bungalows are nestled in the mango trees and just a short walk to town and beaches. Plus, the yoga room was beautiful and an ideal classroom setting. Dagmar, who runs the yoga programs was an exceptional host and helped all of our guests feel at home and was readily accessible to address any and all of our concerns and needs. All of our clients were equally happy and comfortable. The only drawback was it could be a bit noisy in the early mornings- rooster, monkeys throwing mangoes on the roofs, and crabs rustling in the brush- but we felt that was all part of life in Costa Rica and made the experience all the more culturally rich!! We will definitely bring our clients back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    65
    25
    14
    15
See reviews for
18
62
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Me and my wife stayed in the bungalow and loved it. Very relaxing place. The monkeys start eating and playing in the trees every afternoon at 4:30, and they wake you up in the morning. Walking distance to town, but not too close. Go to sleep to the sound of the waves. Cool pool with ocean view. Only negative is no AC, so you have to sleep with the fans on. Overall, highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get the bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stayed in a cool bungalow at Los Mangos. It was clean and spacious and had two fans to keep us cool at night. It has a great pool and is very close to the little town of Montezuma and the beach.
There is a very active monkey population that lives in the trees above the bungalows. Los Mangos was the first place we stayed in Costa Rica and the first night we were startled awake many times and had no idea what was going on. We were able to sleep much better the 2nd night knowing that it was just the monkey's dropping mangoes on our roof.
It was a fun experience and felt like we were very close to nature - tons of animals around: Iguanas, birds, monkeys, boars, etc.

Room Tip: The newer bungalows are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Los Mangos is a great piece of property set just off the coast in Montezuma. You can see the ocean from your porch, the pool is great, but be ready for a jungle experience. We stayed in a Bungalow which itself was very nice, super clean and spacious. You're a 5min walk from town and a 30min hike from the waterfall. The only thing I would warn about is the monkeys. They are relentless, constantly dropping mango fruit from the trees. At night it was startling to wake up to the sound of mango fruit bouncing off the roof. Our first night was much worse than the 2nd once we figured out what the heck was going on. There are also gigantic iguanas that live on the grounds, but those posted no threats. Los Mangos is an experience to say the least!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011 via mobile

The rooms here are nothing special but the hotel is environmentally friendly and you are literallyone minute from the beach and a five minute walk to town. I enjoyed the vibe of Montezuma, my kind of place, very laid back. I would suggest renting a motorcycle unless you are already renting a car and heading to Cobano. Nothing wrong with this hotel

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Although Hotel Los Mangos is very pleasant, someone broke into our LOCKED room (very easily) as well as all the rooms surrounding. They stole EVERYTHING. I would not recommend staying at Hotel Los Mangos until they add security measures. Apparently, this has happened several times over the past few years. It's unfortunate because as I said, it is a nice hotel, but they have no excuse not to have added more durable locks on the door. We never thought this would happen to us.

Montezuma is a great town, and you don't want to be in the position of walking into your room and being hit with the realization all your luggage and valuables are gone. Stay at a hotel with durable locks and security.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Los Mangos, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
dear guest, we absolutely understand that you are upset and are sorry that your room was broken into and some of your valuables got stolen. To show our support we actually paid you and your friends 60$, so you could get back to san jose safely. It would have been nice to mention that in your review. Some things are beyond control and in every place in the world people can get robbed and we feel that although yes, it happens in Montezuma too, we are in a pretty safe and healthy environment here and the majority of our guests enjoys a relaxed stay with us. After this happened to you we immediately arranged for new safety locks to be build in to all our rooms in the hotel and we also replaced older ones in the bungalows. I also do want to make clear here that we do have a safe in each room and we advise every guest to place their valuables into it. I am not sure why you didn't follow our advise (as your friends did) but i hope in the future as you travel you will also take more caution. It is your choice to write this review without telling the whole story. I am not sure how many other hotel owners would have been so kind to give you money and help you out like Costas did without even thinking twice about it. Would have been kind of you to acknowledge that. We wish you all the best for your future. Kind regards from Hotel Los Mangos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

The bungalow we stayed in was by far the nicest accomodation we had during our 8 day stretch along our coastal hop and skip vaca down the Nicoya peninsula. A short walk to downtown (take the beach or the road) was nice since we like quiet at night and tended to wake up early for the sunrise across the road or a yummy breaky at The Bakery Cafe (so relaxing). The path to THE waterfall starts about 100 yards away (the jump into the 2nd pool is worth the butterflies). So basically the location of Hotel Los Mangos is fantastic but what REALLY made our stay great was the owner Costas. His recommendations and charming personality made him an iconic figure and instant friend. His presence and pleasant demeanor makes you wonder if he only recently bought the place and yet he's been there for many years. I'd advise you to reserve ahead (especially if you speak spanish) - we found lodging in Montezuma to be a bit of a challenge. Thank you Costas!! Best to you and Hotel Los Mangos!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Los Mangos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Mangos

Address: Main Street, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montezuma
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a beautiful quiet mango orchard across from the beach and 5 minutes walking distance from town and the famous waterfalls. We offer 10 rooms and 9 private bungalows, swimming pool and Montezuma yoga studio with regular classes. We are located across from the beach and the famous Mediterranean restaurant Playa Los Artistas. We offer wi-fi connection at the reception. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Mangos Hotel
Los Mangos Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Los Mangos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.