We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price, a clean and very comfortable room (with the best hammock in Costa Rica)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pargo Feliz Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Pargo Feliz Hotel
Save Saved
You added Pargo Feliz Hotel to your Saves list
Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“For the price, a clean and very comfortable room (with the best hammock in Costa Rica)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We paid $40 a night for a room with two beds and a private bath. Included a fan. Very comfortable and incredibly clean compared to the place next door (El Capitan -- $30/night and absolutely hot and disgusting).

Staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the area and let us park our car in a secluded area for free. And porch with hammocks was absolutely amazing.

Make sure you eat dinner at the restaurant just down from the hotel (Cocolores). I'm not kidding: it was the best meal I had in my month-long stay in Costa Rica. The Blue Cheese steak was freaking amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Really loved this place for relaxing.
There is a beautiful garden with the ocean at the bottom of it.
It's pretty quiet so you can hear the waves rolling in and the birds singing.
There's a hammock outside each room which i took full advantage of! Rocking and reading, so relaxing!
The rooms are basic but clean. I stayed 4 nights and the bed sheets were changed after 2. Clean towels daily.
If you want to relax, this is a great place to do it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent 2 nights here but would come back anytime!
The location is superb, you have the ocean just a few steps from the room!
You'll like the sound of the waves and the nice garden that separates your room from the coast.
Nice beaches are very near and I've heard of warterfalls, but we couldn't make it.
The lady at the receptions was very helpful and gave us useful info on bus connection outside Nicoya.

You have private hammock and...we've seen a rackcoon in the garden!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and enjoyed it a lot. The service was great and everybody at the reception was very friendly and helpful. We had a room at the upper floor, which was simple but clean, comfortable and very spacious. The best part is the big balcony, with chairs, a table and a hammock in front of the rooms. From there you have a beautiful view to the garden and the sea, it is a perfect place to relax and I felt really well.

It is true that in the evenings it was a little bit noisy because the hotel is located direclty in town and close of restaurants and bars. Also in the morning the birds will wake you up but anyway its a good idea to get up early and to enjoy the beautiful sunrise from the balcony or the beach.

I have been in Montezuma 3 times now and always enjoy it. Already the way to get there is very nice especially crossing the Gulf of Nicoya by ferry.
In Montezuma there is so much to do and to see. The beaches are nice, several waterfalls can be visited, the town offers many different very good restaurants (I recommend the Soda Montesol, which offers great typical breakfast and delicious Casados), souvenir shops and bars.
When you're planning to stay in Montezuma for several days I also recommend to visit the Cabo Blanco reserve which is easy to reach by bus from Montezuma (bus leaves at 8am and I think every 2 hours). It is a great place for hiking in the forest and you can spot many different animals, butterflies and especially howler monkeys.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012 via mobile

the room was spaceous and clean. it had a fanbporch table and chairs and hammocks to rest on. big problem was the restaurant next door had loud music playing until very laten this made sleeping difficult. 2 other problems were no shared kitchen and cold showers. also toad and construction noise began at 6 am. I would definately recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pargo Feliz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pargo Feliz Hotel

Address: Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pargo Feliz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.