We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vaca Loca Restaurante

Vaca Loca Restaurante
100 meters west of Montezuma Central, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Type of cuisine is more a fusion. Includes typical & other varieties of breakfast, lunch has tacos, sandwiches, salads, hamburgers, and dinner has pastas, sandwiches, hamburgers, & daily specials.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I ate here several times during our trip to Montezuma. Everything we had we found to be very good. The woman who runs the place is originally from Canada and is very nice (and can definitely cook). We had the guacamole, which was excellent. We also had smoked swordfish on a homemade bread/cracker with garlic that was great and of course, the fried mahi fingers were also excellent. The price is also very reasonable for the quality of food. I believe that both times we ate there we were in and out for less than $30 USD. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Tried here twice, once for breakfast and once for lunch.

Breakfast was fantastic, pancakes were sweet and tasty with bananas and syrup and the omelette was just as good with mushroom, spinach and onion. All the ingredients tasted fresh and so was the lemonade they make.

Lunch menu not as good will lots of sandwiches that came with fries. A little greasy.

Attentive service howeverthe guy did not lways have a smile on his face and he looked very surly most of the time.

Pricewise is in line with most of the other eats in town. Although it doesnt stand out, it is worth dropping by for the breakfast.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fastest Service in all of Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Seriously, this place doesn't mess around when it comes to service. Anywhere else, service has been lackadaisical at best, but Vaca Loca gets you taken care of promptly. GREAT veggie sandwich, several appetizing vegan options, and shaded outdoor seating. A great place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

During the day you can have breakfast or lunch at this place. We had lunch and that was very good. However, we came back for dinner and then you could order tapas. The tapas is really good and the portions are also quite huge (4 of them were enough for the 2 of us).

The staff is also very friendly.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I had meatball sandwich for supper and a breakfast menu.
The meatball sandwich was not bad nor special.
The had one breakfast menu that came with pinto(rice with beans), eggs, toast, tomato & avocado, and bacon. It costed 3300 colons(us$6.6). And I add a cup of black coffee. It was 550 colons($1.1).
The waiter served the food but there was no tomato & avocado. I said to him the menu said it came with tomato & avocado. Latter he served some slices of tomato and avocado on a small plate.
The pinto was a little sour. I don't know why it was. It didn't have sour cream. I hadn't had sour pinto before.
The bacon was burnt, crunchy and bitter. When you have breakfast there, You'd better choose sausage or cheese instead of bacon.
The price was nice.
The breakfast menu was relatively cheap in Montezuma. It was the cheapest typical menu that i had looked for there.
The sauces was very nice. I really love their chili sauce.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaca Loca Restaurante also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Vaca Loca Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaca Loca Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.