We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaca Loca Restaurante

Vaca Loca Restaurante
100 meters west of Montezuma Central, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Type of cuisine is more a fusion. Includes typical & other varieties of breakfast, lunch has tacos, sandwiches, salads, hamburgers, and dinner has pastas, sandwiches, hamburgers, & daily specials.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We caught them before they closed for the off-season and had a nice lunch there. We all ordered different sandwiches and they were good. Better than a lot of our food in CR. Hope they re-open. Roasted veg sandwich was great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
“Best place in montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

For me the best place to eat in montezuma!!!homemade food and sandwiches!!the best place to join your friends and have a fresh homemade smoothie and sandwich or burger!!!so tasty!!!The service is excellent!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“breakfast spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was my one of my favorite breakfast spots,very basic but in the best way. Try the fried yuca with garlic cream sauce with a typical Costa Rican breakfast.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Canadian owners.. Yay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stopped to eat here when we saw the Canadian flag painted next to the Costa Rican flag. The sandwiches and fruit smoothies were great. Reasonable prices, good service and a nice chill atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“breakfast of champions! good options and great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After a crazy day in the sun with a big sunburn the refuge of Vaca Loca was awesome! Cool pineapple smoothie and the cool polished cement bench was exactly what was needed. Mr. Black the mascot of Vaca Loca was very sweet as well cuddled up for a nap. We cooled and then ate the fish tacos while chatting it up with fellow Torontonian restaurant owner.

The next day we came back for an early breakfast and I had the Pinto Loca- a Costa Rican combo of rice and beans, eggs, avocado and tomatoes, bacon and fresh bread. The basil garlic sauce was incredible. My girlfriend had an avocado and cheese sandwich on fresh baked bread and it was incredible.

Reasonable prices, good atmosphere and delish food! YUM!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaca Loca Restaurante also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Vaca Loca Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaca Loca Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.