We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaca Loca Restaurante

Vaca Loca Restaurante
100 meters west of Montezuma Central, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Type of cuisine is more a fusion. Includes typical & other varieties of breakfast, lunch has tacos, sandwiches, salads, hamburgers, and dinner has pastas, sandwiches, hamburgers, & daily specials.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Solid Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Me and my gf came here and we got the blackened chicken sandwich and the steak "vaca loca" sandwich. The meal was great, and was even better with the fresh fruit juices. Stop by here when you're in Montezuma, a bit pricey compared to other local places but not by much. Each sandwich was about $9 USD compared to places where it can be $6-7 so nbd

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    28
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Enjoyed the food so much that we went there twice during our 4 days in Montezuma. Everything is made to order and super fresh. I had the roasted veggie sandwich which, though simple, was soooo tasty. Sounds like they come up with a sandwich/burger of the day from time to time, one of my travel buddies had a burger with peanut butter, bacon, and peach salsa... sounds odd I know but it totally worked! Great job all around

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great quality of food and kind service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

We had a breakfast in Vaca Loca and I would recommend it warmly. Ingredients were top class and it felt that food is made with thought and love. Price was 22$ (2 persons, breakfast plates, coffees and juices) which is of course quite prizy but it is worth it. Little minus for the plastic furniture.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Crazy for Vaca Loca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I think I may have eaten here at least ten times. Gallo Pinto for breakfast can't be beat. The sauces were out of this world, Vaca Loca was the only restaurant we found that offered any kind of sauce. I loved the veggie burger and veggie sandwich and veggie tacos! The artwork was so cool and the staff so helpful and friendly!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curridabat, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nom Nom Nom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Delicious! The fish tacos were amazing. The only reason for 4-stars was because all of the reviews made me think the guacamole would be great.. but it wasn't seasoned very well and just by looking at it I could tell there wasn't any fresh cilantro or tomatoes inside of it. Still decent, though, and I showed up 11:30 AM in the slow season so perhaps it wasn't their guacamole's best day.

Service was great, I like people that say "con mucho gusto" after they set down food in front me and I thank them for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaca Loca Restaurante also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Vaca Loca Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaca Loca Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.