We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nom Nom Nom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vaca Loca Restaurante

Vaca Loca Restaurante
100 meters west of Montezuma Central, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Type of cuisine is more a fusion. Includes typical & other varieties of breakfast, lunch has tacos, sandwiches, salads, hamburgers, and dinner has pastas, sandwiches, hamburgers, & daily specials.
Curridabat, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Nom Nom Nom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Delicious! The fish tacos were amazing. The only reason for 4-stars was because all of the reviews made me think the guacamole would be great.. but it wasn't seasoned very well and just by looking at it I could tell there wasn't any fresh cilantro or tomatoes inside of it. Still decent, though, and I showed up 11:30 AM in the slow season so perhaps it wasn't their guacamole's best day.

Service was great, I like people that say "con mucho gusto" after they set down food in front me and I thank them for it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    28
    15
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local and American Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I had pancakes for breakfast, which were average. My friend had Huevos Rancheros and she loved it. Service was alright.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the guacamole and tortillas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We loved this place! Probably my favorite in Montezuma. The guacamole and tortillas was the best as were the tacos and the watermelon smoothie!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We went to Vaca Loca twice, and then my daughter got something to go on our way out of Montezuma the last day. We just stumbled upon this cute little place in a line up of other little cafes and strolled in for lunch. We had salads, veggie sandwich and smoothies (banana passion fruit), and it was so good we couldnt wait to go back the next day!! Everything is prepared fresh and to your liking. The homemade chips are delicious and a must for everyone to try. The owner was so nice and went out of her way for my daughters special request., and her chef was very hardworking. And she supports the local children so make sure to purchase a cow you can decorate and hang up. It's a laid back, easy feeling like the rest of the town, a place you can really just come for good food and conversation and really feel like you belong there. Or at least wish you did!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best food in Montezuma hands down!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Been to Vaca Loca a bunch during our stay in Montezuma and stayed an extra two days because of it! The chips and guac are amazing, as was every other thing we tried! The veggie sandwiches with fresh cut potato chips, veggie tacos, and veggie burgers were outstanding! Make sure to try all of the sauces and ask for a watermelon iced tea which is more like a slushie. So refreshing! I also had her make me a breakfast sandwich seved on fresh Italian bread with hash browns, tomato, avocado, cheese, and of course, I added the sauces to it! Sounds kinda weird, but it was delicious and kept me full all morning. The prices were also relatively cheap compared to everywhere else in Montezuma. This has been the best food I've had while traveling throughout Costa Rica!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaca Loca Restaurante also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Vaca Loca Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaca Loca Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.