We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Montesol

Soda Montesol
between Cafe Delicias and Supermarket | Main Road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I ate breakfast here one morning and it was pretty good. Very affordable. I didn't think it was amazing enough to write home about, but I also can't judge since I only went one time. I would try it again on my next trip.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    25
    12
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Watch your food!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I went in for a quick burger. I was watching a guy cut up raw bloody meat for something he was cooking on the stove. I figured my meal was being prepared in the back. Suddenly, without even washing his hands, he pulled out a frozen burger and put it on the grill. He them took out the roll and some other components and put them on the same cutting board with the raw meat. I expressed my dismay to another employee and left.

I travel around Costa Rica regularly and eat in small places like this all the time. I have never seen such blatant disregard for food safety. I also eat street food and I almost never have a problem.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Whimsical alcove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I ate here a few times while in Montezuma. The food is delicious and the staff is friendly and helpful. (My friend and I are were very clumsy and kept spilling water or knocking over a sauce bottle every time we went here but the staff joked around and didn't once make us feel uncomfortable. ) Also it's reasonably priced.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“TripAdvisor recommends. I concur....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Yes on price and taste.Service was good and price was as good as it gets in town. The little soda next door is almost as good, but not quite...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cheap, great casado”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Very simple and affordable but nice Casado meal. Good for lunch. Would not order anything besides that. The chicken hamburger was
Not what they are good at.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Montesol also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Cabuya, Montezuma
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Soda Montesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Montesol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.