We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Montesol

Soda Montesol
between Cafe Delicias and Supermarket | Main Road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a hole in the wall. But don't let that fool you. Really tasy food, with large portions. It takes a little while because the food is prepared fresh. The sopa azteca is awesome and so were the pork chops. The chicken cassado is another really good dish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dios Mio, so good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This place and El Sano Cabano were my absolute favorites. I should actually rate this place as my top favorite since the service is basically instant. Best food I had in Montezuma hands down, and some of the quickest and best service I've ever received period. The first day in Montezuma we had dinner here (ordered a chicken casado) and it was heaven. Did I mention it took about 4 minutes for us to get our food? I love the concept of a cascado, and this is the epitome of one for me. I had breakfast here the morning we left and was concerned because I only had about 30 minutes until our shuttle left. I don't know why, and never again will I doubt! I had the Americano breakfast, the bacon was probably the best I've ever had. And cinnamon syrup? Seriously? It was delicious. Again, very quick service, very friendly staff, DELICIOUS food, and did I also mention probably the cheapest in Montezuma? This place is a gem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great batidos!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a wonderful little place. The staff were incredible with my kids ( six year old and a 12 year old with special needs). Everyone is super friendly and Make you feel at home. The food was great and reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

great gallo pinto and toasts, pretty neat watermellon shake, excellent service and right on downtown

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad batidos, unhygienic kitchen and very unfriendly. Worst exp in a 34days travel through cr,”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Came here based on tripadvisor and i like casados. Batidos mango i toke was made with a very unripe mango. Awfull! Kitchen was dirty as hell. If i had seen it earlier i wouldnt have eaten there! Casado was very uncasado. I dont want pasta in my casado for example. Service was very very unfriendly. Nothing good to say about the place

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Montesol also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 

Been to Soda Montesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Montesol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.