We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soda Montesol

Soda Montesol
between Cafe Delicias and Supermarket | Main Road, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were staying in Montezuma for 8 days. This was by far the best food we had. The best price also! The fish dishes are fresh and yummy and the fruit "batidos" (juice smoothie) are excellent!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    25
    12
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I miss the Casada con Pescado already!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We both enjoyed a hearty, home cooked meal here. Price was very affordable, and the assortment of sides and salads on the Casada dish was superb! Our favourite restaurant in Montezuma!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic and tasty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stopped by Soda Montesol to kill a little time while in Montezuma. A little time turned into too much time, however, on a low dollar check, I would probably have forgotten about us too. The smoothies we ordered were fabulous (guanabana and blackberry) and there was vegetarian options for just about everything on the menu. (vegan would be difficult as most dishes and smoothies contained milk, egg, or yogurt.) The price was very reasonable, as "sodas" in Costa Rica tend to be less expensive. Other places we've been to really capitalize on the "tourists." Authentic resaurant that has obviously been around for a few hundred years.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went to Soda Montesol for lunch. The location is great, right in the middle of the high street. Don't let the decor stop you from going, the food is great (we had very nice casados), and the portions are huge for the price. The lady serving was lovely, very chatty and friendly.
Fully recommend you to go

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very good food, Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We ate at Soda Montesol once during our vacation in Montezuma. The food was very good and very inexpensive. Its not a restaurant that might cater to tourists (other than perhaps backpackers) and it could easily be passed by. It was one of the tastiest casadas we had during our stay (and we sampled a few)!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soda Montesol also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Soda Montesol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soda Montesol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.