We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites

Save Saved
You added Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
300 Metros Oeste Del Molino | Las Delicias, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights of our Honeymoon at this magical and amazing place near Montezuma, Costa Rica. I cannot recommend Kalapati highly enough. For most travelers, this will be the best place you have ever stayed.
Nestled in the jungle laden hills about a 10 minute drive from Montezuma, Kalapiti has been built from the ground up by the proprieters, Miguel and his wife, Piti. They have built a truly unique and wonderful place to stay. It has a large and beautiful pool with a waterslide and jacuzzi. There is sauna/turkish bath, and a pavilion to lay out in the sun during the day, and observe the amazing stars at night. The inside sleeping quarters are great, with a king size bed, indoor jacuzzi, and beautiful 2nd bedroom as well. The inside is well air-conditioned and there is even satellite TV. There is also a private outdoor kitchen where you can cook your meals, and there is a supermarket nearby. Miguel and his wife will even cook private dinners for you as well.
it is a short drive from the beaches of Montezuma and the beach town of Santa Teresa as well.

The place is not cheap, but if you are looking for a once in a lifetime experience close to amazing beaches in Costa Rica, you will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thanks a lot for your words.
We have given our hearts and love into this project and really makes us proud to know that you enjoyed it. We desire that you keep good memories of Kalapiti and you don't forget the way back to your little piece of paradise :-)
All the best
Piti y Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My wife spent 13 months researching our trip to Costa Rica. At my request, I was kept in the dark about every aspect of the trip other than the day of the flights and the fact that I'd be driving the rental car. I will admit that as we worked our way into the heart of the peninsula from Paquera I was a bit concerned. We arrived mid-dry season and for the last 15 kilometers from Kalapiti, everything was covered in a mild carpet of ranch dust.

What a shocking difference when we arrived at the gate. A beautifully manicured drive lined by fragrant flower and fruit trees would its way 80 yards onto the property, yet kept the view of location hidden. Taking that right turn onto the final feet of the driveway was breathtaking. There is no other way to describe the beauty of that Moroccan villa nestled in the lush growth of the jungle. I was fully expecting a hotel and Kalapiti is most definitely not. It's more a tropical plantation built with exactness of purpose and detail that requires a keen eye to fully grasp. When we pulled up my 11-year old son made reference to the Garden of Eden.

Miguel and Piti have an amazing property that they open up to you. They are not so much owners as they are hosts and curators. The grounds are amazing, even in the dry season and the hospitality is first rate. The breads delivered for breakfast rivaled every bake shoppe we have visited in the States. The home-made jams were amazing as was the fresh fruits provided from the expansive gardens. Piti's dinner service - we had the paella - was stunning. My 72 year old father is more of a meat and potatoes eater and Miguel and Piti were more than happy to oblige. If you have the opportunity to stay more than a few days I would definitely recommend enjoying the paella and another night order a collection of pastas to share. My two sons consider themselves pasta connoisseurs and both described the four pasta dishes we enjoyed as being "the best ever in the history of mankind!"

If you find yourself on the Nicoya peninsula with desires to go surfing in Malpais, do your family a favor and stay at Kalapiti instead of one of the hotels in the beach side towns. You cherish your stay for as long as your family has photos to remember it by.

Room Tip: Our family was six total; two boys, my wife and I and my parents so we booked all the suites and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear family
We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Kalapiti. For us it was a real pleasure attend you at our hidden treasure at paradise.
I really do not feel like a job to serve you. I really enjoyed it.
I am very happy for having met you
For us it is our dream come true to see your children happy shouting it down the waterslide to fall in the pool.......and Grandpa also :-)
A big hug for the whole family !!!
Piti y Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

A vacation like no other, our stay at Kalapiti was beyond our expectations. Aptly named in a tribute to his wife, Miguel has created an oasis of peace, tranquility and incredible beauty. 25 years ago he had a vision of what this property could become and today the 14 acres of tropical trees and plants, the incredible pool and the surrounding wildlife are absolutely majestic. He has accomplished what most of us would never be able to envision. The newly built (opened 2012) villa (2 suites) and the property are stunning, clean, comfortable and spacious. The expansive suites are luxurious with every amenity. We rented both suites but there is ample room for the 2 suites to be booked by separate groups and each still find themselves with enough space for privacy and seclusion. The outdoor lounge areas are numerous, extra comfortable with huge day beds and sofas large enough for our entire family of 6 to lay together in sunshine, shade or under the stars at night as we lay listening to the visiting troop of howler monkeys banter back and forth.

Let's talk about the wildlife that's ON the Kalapiti property: the troop of howler monkeys that set up camp consisted of no less than 45-50 monkeys. They arrived swinging through the trees right over our heads and settled in a tree 30 feet away from the villa. They were as low as 20 feet off the ground. It made for some National Geographic quality photos as they were quite content to watch me move about beneath them as I aimed for more than 3000 shots. Additionally we were visited by a flock of toucans, parrots, lovebirds, hummingbirds, iguanas, enormous squirrels, beautiful (& huge) butterflies, the esperenza bugs, an agouti, and, of course, the ever present geckos and praying mantis! My photos depict what we actually saw at Kalapiti.

Off the property we encountered manta rays, a sloth, capuchin monkeys, wild boars, and wild turkeys, and many pelicans. While deep sea fishing we enjoyed a playful group of seven dolphins who entertained us as they swam alongside and in front of our boat for more than 15 minutes, and many sea turtles.

Our beautiful host family (Miguel, Piti, Sara & Rachid) were so gracious and accommodating, looking after our every need, providing concierge services for our activities, reservations, recommendations, and spot-on directions whenever we ventured out. Superb chefs, the meals Miguel & Piti catered were all 5 star family recipes from the menu reflecting their spanish heritage (although they were quite happy to tailor meals to their guests requests). Try the paella! It is superb. And the lasagne. And the fish. For that matter, try it all....everything was incredibly flavourful and fresh! And if there were any leftovers (that didn't happen often!) they were wrapped and left in the fridge for us to enjoy the next day. Piti's freshly baked bread, homemade yogourt, and different fruits from the orchard were delivered to us each morning. Catered meals were complimented by the fresh vegetables organically grown in their own garden. Decadent desserts by Sara rival those of a professional chef. And Rachid provided our children with an unexpected New Year's Eve fireworks show! We cannot thank them enough for making Christmas 2013 our best vacation ever!


We normally opt to stay in large hotels in order to enjoy the benefits of those properties, but Kalapiti offered all of those amenities PLUS the precious privacy, peace and quiet one usually craves when staying in a large resort. The only background noise was that provided by the birds, the crickets, the monkeys and the pool waterfall. Daily maid service was scheduled at our convenience. Days we planned to be up and about early Anna arrived early. Days we planned to sleep later she was scheduled to come in the afternoon. It was in every way a vacation tailored to meet our needs.

Kalapiti's location is ideal. It just feels like you're in the middle of your own rain forest (well, Miguel's own rain forest, I guess!), certainly far away from the major cities, but just far enough away from the little nearby towns too. Only a few minutes drive from the villa, Cobano is the closest town with the best grocery stores in the area. You'll find pretty much everything you'll need here (but maybe not all the brand names you're familiar with). Montezuma is also only a few minutes away by car. We went there to enjoy a zip lining tour, a climb up the waterfalls, deep sea fishing with Ivan from Zuma Tours (departure point), snorkelling & tour of Tortuga Island also through Zuma Tours (departure point), and a beach/national park horseback ride (4 hours) and a hike along the National Park pathway that runs along the coast. Mal Pais is the ultimate surfer's destination. This beach was fantastic for our surf lessons from Jobbie's Surf Shop (instructors were great--entertaining and encouraging for us new to the sport!). We learned enough in one morning to go back, rent boards and try it ourselves the next time. We also spent a few mornings enjoying the french pastries, breakfasts and specialty coffees at the Bakery Pastry Bistro on the strip in Mal Pais.

Simply put, this is paradise. Congratulations Miguel & Piti on the beautiful life you have created for yourselves and your family in this amazing oasis. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful. The upper suite has 2 queen size beds plus a seating area. It has the am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Owner at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear family. We hope you are doing PURA VIDA !!
We are deeply touched with your comments.
We did not find a job to serve you, on the contrary it was a real pleasure !!
Kalapiti is our dream come true and we are so happy that you really enjoyed. We thoroughly enjoyed the time that you were staying at our hidden treasure in heaven :-)
You will be always welcome.
Please give a big hug to the kids and grandma !!
I hope see you again pretty soon !!
You know that we are here for serve you anytime.
Piti, Miguel, Sara and Rachid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We didn't expected to find such beauty when at the gate of the hotel. The place has a great view to the jungle and pretty close to Montezuma. The owner was super kind and gave us the feeling we were home... Great food and super product! I think our room was by far the best choice we could have made in Montezuma!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thanks a lot for your words.
Unfortunately we just can take care of you for one night. I hope your next visit we can attend you as you deserve litlle longer. Our home made yogur and fresh fruits from our organic garden will be waiting for you :-)
All the best
Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our entire experience with Miguel and Kalapiti was amazing. It started with the very first communication. He was very responsive and answered all of our questions even before we talked about booking.

Kalapiti is built on a truly beautiful property that is close to all the great towns of Nicoya, especially Montezuma but still offers the privacy and seclusion we were looking for. The entire property sit on a large acreage that is landscaped with every flower, tree and plant you can think of. With a marked trail that circles the property, we were able to walk around and discover new things everyday. Miguel the owner even gave us a tour pointing out even more things we would have never noticed, giving us samples of the fruits and vegetables from his organic garden.

The house itself was amazing, offering all the amenities we would ever need. The pool offered a relaxing area for us to catch some sun and the kitchen was fully equipped to cook anything you want for you and an army.

We were very pleased to have come across this property in our last minute search. This definitely will be the first of many stays at Kalapiti!

Room Tip: We were in the el sol suite which was perfect for a us, two people. It could probably handle two ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Owner at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi
Thanks a lot for your words. It was a pleasure take a walk with you arround our botanical garden.
You will try the sugarcane and yucca next time :-)
It was a real pleasure meet you guys.
Please, don't forget the way back to your hidden treasure...
See you soon
Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

WE LOVED THIS PLACE!!! You will love the beautiful suites (super comfortable beds!) and taking advantage of the very large and varied outdoor areas of this villa. The lounge beds on the top-of-the-jungle rooftop deck are the perfect place to take in a thunderstorm or a book.

The owners made this stay even more memorable! They are at your service when needed but not intrusive at all. I've never experienced such wonderful hosts and been served such incredible home-cooking!

HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Sandy
Thanks a lot for your words.
It was a pleasure attend you and your friends at Kalapiti. We are so happy that you enjoy the meals that we cook for you here at your hidden treasure at paradise.
You are always welcome !!!
Big hug !!
Piti y Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Although my family and I travel often and have stayed in many beautiful places, I have never written a review until now. I feel that I would be in the wrong if I did not share our experience. This house was the most amazing place we have ever stayed. The attention to detail cannot be described. Every inch of the place is incredible. The owners, Miguel and Piti, were just as amazing as the house. They were the nicest people. So sincere and accomodating. We rented the whole house rather than using the hotel option, yet they still acted as the perfect hosts. The only negative is that we do not think anywhere else will ever match up. We are afraid that all future vacations will be compared with the outcome of "it's no Kalapiti". :) We truly had the most marvelous vacation and are already dreaming of our return to paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment.
Is for us a pride to read your words.It is our dream come true,because from the beginning we have designed and created Kalapiti so that our friends / customers can enjoy a unique and special experience, with maximum comfort and the best service in a wonderful atmosphere.
We are very happy to have met our goals and desires knowing that you appreciate.
Please,don't forget the way back to Kalapiti.You are always welcome.
Piti y Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites

Address: 300 Metros Oeste Del Molino | Las Delicias, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalapiti Luxury Vacation Suites is no typical vacation rental. Kalapiti is truly a unique experience set in a fantastic natural context.We are located close to Cabo Blanco Absolut Reserve,between Montezuma and Mal País/Santa Teresa beaches. Montezuma (5 min driving)has beatifull beaches where flowing streams with waterfalls.Horseback riding on the beach,Montezuma waterfall Canopy Tour,Playa grande o Los Cedros surf point... Mal País,(20 m. driving)long beaches,open ocean,bigger waves to surf. We designed Kalapiti in the heart of a botanical garden that we created ourselves.There are monkeys arround as a lot of birds and butterflies.The original property used to be a horse ranch but with much effort, passion, and time little by little we transformed this ranch into a botanical garden boasting hundreds of tree and plant species that will delight lovers of Costa Rica’s exuberant biodiversity. Our gardens have become habitat for countless animal species, particularly birds and mammals.Over time our dreams and ideas became a reality. Kalapiti wants our clients to experience our dream and enjoy ample rest, exquisite Mediterranean-style cuisine, all set in a luxurious setting. Our unique architectural design has an interesting mix of styles featuring soft curves that inspires relaxation and inner peace amidst a festival of nature Concierge service as daily maid service are included. We are spanish from Costa Brava,We are living here at Las Delicias for the last 22 years.We own two restaurants Montezuma downtown,and we can do all reservations for you as ATV,car rental,Tortuga Island tour (including snorkel ) fishing tour,horses,...meanwhile you take a drink at the pool,watching the monkeys !!. So it will be a pleasure help you in everithing that we can. Kalapiti it has an amazing full equiped professional kitchen,that you can freely use if desired or you can have restaurant service We are chefs.Spanish and mediterranean food specialties. We can personalize your meals and schedule respecting your preferences. you have the freedom to choose which days you want chef service, and how many meals a day you desire There is a nice italian wood-oven pizzeria (Tierra y Fuego) 3 minutes driving.Also there are many restaurants at Montezuma beach (5 min.)Kalapiti is a project that was born more than 20 years ago. We arrived from Cataluña, Tossa de mar (Costa Brava), Spain. While living our own tropical romance, we discovered this magnificent hamlet that seemed to us to be the center of the world, located on the south tip of the Nicoya Peninsula, a naturally gifted spot between the beaches of Montezuma and Malpais-Santa Teresa.Professional massage and yoga lessons are available. Please take a look to our web site to see more details about us.The huge private pool,with a funny slide and jacuzzi,Hammam(turquish bath) etc We start Kalapiti the last January.We try to do something diferent and really special ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.