We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfert, just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites

Save Saved
You added Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
300 Metros Oeste Del Molino | Las Delicias, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfert, just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our entire experience with Miguel and Kalapiti was amazing. It started with the very first communication. He was very responsive and answered all of our questions even before we talked about booking.

Kalapiti is built on a truly beautiful property that is close to all the great towns of Nicoya, especially Montezuma but still offers the privacy and seclusion we were looking for. The entire property sit on a large acreage that is landscaped with every flower, tree and plant you can think of. With a marked trail that circles the property, we were able to walk around and discover new things everyday. Miguel the owner even gave us a tour pointing out even more things we would have never noticed, giving us samples of the fruits and vegetables from his organic garden.

The house itself was amazing, offering all the amenities we would ever need. The pool offered a relaxing area for us to catch some sun and the kitchen was fully equipped to cook anything you want for you and an army.

We were very pleased to have come across this property in our last minute search. This definitely will be the first of many stays at Kalapiti!

Room Tip: We were in the el sol suite which was perfect for a us, two people. It could probably handle two ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Owner at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Hi
Thanks a lot for your words. It was a pleasure take a walk with you arround our botanical garden.
You will try the sugarcane and yucca next time :-)
It was a real pleasure meet you guys.
Please, don't forget the way back to your hidden treasure...
See you soon
Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

WE LOVED THIS PLACE!!! You will love the beautiful suites (super comfortable beds!) and taking advantage of the very large and varied outdoor areas of this villa. The lounge beds on the top-of-the-jungle rooftop deck are the perfect place to take in a thunderstorm or a book.

The owners made this stay even more memorable! They are at your service when needed but not intrusive at all. I've never experienced such wonderful hosts and been served such incredible home-cooking!

HIGHLY recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Hi Sandy
Thanks a lot for your words.
It was a pleasure attend you and your friends at Kalapiti. We are so happy that you enjoy the meals that we cook for you here at your hidden treasure at paradise.
You are always welcome !!!
Big hug !!
Piti y Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson, Vermont, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Although my family and I travel often and have stayed in many beautiful places, I have never written a review until now. I feel that I would be in the wrong if I did not share our experience. This house was the most amazing place we have ever stayed. The attention to detail cannot be described. Every inch of the place is incredible. The owners, Miguel and Piti, were just as amazing as the house. They were the nicest people. So sincere and accomodating. We rented the whole house rather than using the hotel option, yet they still acted as the perfect hosts. The only negative is that we do not think anywhere else will ever match up. We are afraid that all future vacations will be compared with the outcome of "it's no Kalapiti". :) We truly had the most marvelous vacation and are already dreaming of our return to paradise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment.
Is for us a pride to read your words.It is our dream come true,because from the beginning we have designed and created Kalapiti so that our friends / customers can enjoy a unique and special experience, with maximum comfort and the best service in a wonderful atmosphere.
We are very happy to have met our goals and desires knowing that you appreciate.
Please,don't forget the way back to Kalapiti.You are always welcome.
Piti y Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were so blown away by Kalapiti that I don’t know where to begin. We stumbled onto this property and are so grateful for the 8 nights we spent there. The pictures will show how uniquely beautiful and creative the design is. There are 2 suites…a one bedroom upstairs, which we did not use, and a 2 bedroom unit. My husband and I had the master bedroom…a huge, very elegant room with a Jacuzzi tub with jungle views, a lovely king sized bed and a massive bathroom with a very unique stone shower. I have never actually understood what people mean by “sleeping on a cloud” until I slept in that bed. There is a very high-end mattress that has now spoiled me for all other beds! There is lots of closet space, a desk, and a safe. Oh, I almost forgot…there is also a large private deck that looks out into the jungle landscaping. Our daughter and her boyfriend slept in the second room, which is a round alcove off of the living room. Even the bed is round, and the windows are Arabian styled. They slept very well there, although there is no door or curtain for privacy. The second bathroom is located just outside the main door of the unit and doubles as the bathroom for the pool area.

The kitchen is fantastic…very well stocked with dishes and cookware, along with a restaurant-sized 4 burner gas stove/oven, a full sized stainless steel fridge, and a toaster oven. There is even an eating bar with bar stools. We chose to prepare our own food, so we did not experience the culinary delights of Miguel and Piti, however, Miguel brought home-made bread and jam to us, and provided us with a delicious bottle of chilled Spanish champagne upon our arrival.

Our favorite place to sit was the covered patio next to the kitchen, with views over the pool and out to the jungle. A family of howler monkeys, complete with baby, were frequent visitors in the trees next to the patio. There are lots of lights for evenings on the patio, and ceiling fans to keep you comfortable. And if that is not enough for you, there is a huge covered roof-top deck, complete with large couch and multiple cushions for private lounging and relaxing. I did a tally of all the different seating areas you can choose from and I think I counted 7. No need to be on top of each other here!

If you like a fireplace, there is one of those off the kitchen/patio area. We didn’t use it but it looked lovely. We also didn’t use the roof-top Turkish bath, but it’s there if you want it.

Oddly enough, the waterslide was a big hit with our daughter’s 35-year-old boyfriend…who knew? They both had great fun with it actually, and there are also a bunch of pool toys and floating devices to add to the enjoyment of the pool. This would be a fantastic family villa for people with children of all ages, and also a great honeymoon destination for someone looking for a private and special location.

I cannot say enough good things about this unique, gorgeous, peaceful, jungle paradise.

I must also add a comment for how much we liked Miguel and Piti. They were gracious and kind, and so helpful when I stupidly burned my hand on a piping hot metal pot. In fact, if they had not brought me aloe vera to put on my burn it would have ruined the rest of my vacation. As it was, I had only one day where I sat with my hand in the aloe, the pain went away after about 2 hours and my hand didn’t even blister.

Lastly, I will mention the housekeeper. She did a very meticulous job, including bringing fresh flowers, towels, and robes daily. She does not speak English but she is very sweet and willing to please.

Do yourself a favor and book this place! You will never forget it.

Room Tip: Everything is beautiful and unique. You will just have to decide which unit works best for your grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Leslie and family.
You are so kind.Thank you very much for your comment.
For us it means much your comment as it reflects the satisfaction of our friens/costumers.We put all our heart and soul into this project, and our hope is to create a new concept of accommodation because you deserve the best.
Because we're travelers too and we try to take into Kalapiti every last detail that always want to have in the best of our dreams.
Thank you very much for the recognition of our work and we always look forward to your champagne on arrival and daily bread ;-)
Please don't forget the way back to Kalapiti.
See you soon
Piti y Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just spent a week at Kalapiti and we are already planing the next visit. Even though it is a large house with many private spaces it was perfect for just the two of us. Miguel and his family were the perfect hosts. Privacy when we wanted it and helpful when we needed it. Miguel brought us fresh baked bread and Piti's strawberry jam (delicious!). The pool and patio take center stage as we began and ended each day. Montezuma Is only 10 minutes away with several very good restaurants. We rented atv's and went deep sea fishing and some days did nothing.... It was fantastic. We can't reccommend Kalapiti enough. Great house, great area and great owners.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Owner at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment .
Fills us with pride and satisfaction knowing that you were happy in Kalapiti.Our effort from the start creating Kalapiti was to offer our clients comfort and architectural beauty in a fantastic natural environment and we are happy that you have appreciated this.
It was a pleasure to serve you and in fact we are waiting for your early arrival to greet you as you deserve.
I always have fresh baked homemade bread for your next trip
I promise the best Spanish sangria made ​​with Champagne that you ever tasted to celebrate your arrival. :-)
See you soon
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at Kalapiti for 10 days with our two young boys. We were traveling around the whole country of Costa Rica for two months and Kalapiti was by far the most luxurious, beautiful and peaceful place that we stayed. It's a truly magical place. There are many fantastic features to this special property but the large pool with a water slide, "beach" area, comfortable pool side chairs and natural chlorine free water was pure heaven. The house itself is architecturally magnificent, created in a Moroccan style, with an attention to detail and artistic flourishes throughout. The property has many indoor and outdoor spaces for hanging out, doing yoga, reading, having alone time from your kids :) or taking a peaceful outdoor nap. The outdoor kitchen was a fully equipped "cooks kitchen" and we would eat meals on the deck looking out at the beautiful landscaping and watching monkeys move through the trees. The deck on top was great for stargazing and includes a beautiful domed "hammam" turkish sauna which was an amazing experience.

The location was great as it was peaceful and quiet but only a short 10 minute drive to Montezuma with its restaurants, shops, beach and surf/backpacker scene. The town of Cobano with a grocery store and ATM machine was nearby and we daytripped to the beaches of Santa Theresa twice. There's also an amazing pizzeria with a wood-fired oven just up the road.

Last but not least. Miguel and Piti (who designed, built and run Kalapiti) were spectacular hosts. They were warm, friendly and helpful but also gave us our own space. They checked in on us to make sure we had everything we needed, told us about local places to visit and even shared some of their amazing cooking (they also own a restaurant nearby). We have travelled the world and have never met people who were more genuinely hospitable and gracious.

I guess the best compliment we can give is that we originally planned to stay there for 5 nights and ended up staying for 10! We LOVED Kalapiti and if we return to Costa Rica we will definitely try to stay their again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeliciasMontezuma, Propietario at Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment.
We are pleased you enjoyed Kalapiti.
From the beginning is our mission to make our customers happy at all that you need,offering a personalized service tailored to each customer's preferences.
We are very grateful for the opportunity to meet you and treat you as you deserve,you are such a beautiful family.Please give a big HUG to your children from Kalapiti.
You know we're friends now and we wish the best for you.
We hope you can soon return to our little piece of paradise
We will await with fresh fruits from our organic garden and a delicious tiramisu for you
Warm regards
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tossa de Mar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have spent a marvellous weekend at Kalapiti. The place is amazing, the gardens, the building... they have taken care after every single detail, seriously! The rooms were clean and cute, plese don't miss the yakuzzi! we had a fantastic bath at their hammam (Arab sauna) and an apéritif at the chill out with the sunset, could we ask for more?
Piti and Miguel, the owners, took care of us all the time without invading our space, they cook the best paella I have ever tried.
Thanks Kalapiti, for being such a generous and loving family, we can't wait to go back to you again!
see you soon

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites

Address: 300 Metros Oeste Del Molino | Las Delicias, Montezuma 5361, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 hotels in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalapiti Luxury Vacation Suites is no typical vacation rental. Kalapiti is truly a unique experience set in a fantastic natural context.We are located close to Cabo Blanco Absolut Reserve,between Montezuma and Mal País/Santa Teresa beaches. Montezuma (5 min driving)has beatifull beaches where flowing streams with waterfalls.Horseback riding on the beach,Montezuma waterfall Canopy Tour,Playa grande o Los Cedros surf point... Mal País,(20 m. driving)long beaches,open ocean,bigger waves to surf. We designed Kalapiti in the heart of a botanical garden that we created ourselves.There are monkeys arround as a lot of birds and butterflies.The original property used to be a horse ranch but with much effort, passion, and time little by little we transformed this ranch into a botanical garden boasting hundreds of tree and plant species that will delight lovers of Costa Rica’s exuberant biodiversity. Our gardens have become habitat for countless animal species, particularly birds and mammals.Over time our dreams and ideas became a reality. Kalapiti wants our clients to experience our dream and enjoy ample rest, exquisite Mediterranean-style cuisine, all set in a luxurious setting. Our unique architectural design has an interesting mix of styles featuring soft curves that inspires relaxation and inner peace amidst a festival of nature Concierge service as daily maid service are included. We are spanish from Costa Brava,We are living here at Las Delicias for the last 22 years.We own two restaurants Montezuma downtown,and we can do all reservations for you as ATV,car rental,Tortuga Island tour (including snorkel ) fishing tour,horses,...meanwhile you take a drink at the pool,watching the monkeys !!. So it will be a pleasure help you in everithing that we can. Kalapiti it has an amazing full equiped professional kitchen,that you can freely use if desired or you can have restaurant service We are chefs.Spanish and mediterranean food specialties. We can personalize your meals and schedule respecting your preferences. you have the freedom to choose which days you want chef service, and how many meals a day you desire There is a nice italian wood-oven pizzeria (Tierra y Fuego) 3 minutes driving.Also there are many restaurants at Montezuma beach (5 min.)Kalapiti is a project that was born more than 20 years ago. We arrived from Cataluña, Tossa de mar (Costa Brava), Spain. While living our own tropical romance, we discovered this magnificent hamlet that seemed to us to be the center of the world, located on the south tip of the Nicoya Peninsula, a naturally gifted spot between the beaches of Montezuma and Malpais-Santa Teresa.Professional massage and yoga lessons are available. Please take a look to our web site to see more details about us.The huge private pool,with a funny slide and jacuzzi,Hammam(turquish bath) etc We start Kalapiti the last January.We try to do something diferent and really special ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.