We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Las Delicias Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
+506 2642 1593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Great restaurant but it was difficult to find. It took me 3 days. A lot of local people had not heard of it if and if the had did not know where it was. I had Pizza but they did have other dishes. It is Italian so that is what you get. The pizza was great, thin crust and the staff were very friendly and talkative. They speak some English so communication was not a problem. If you can't finish they will put in a box for you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Real authentic wood fired oven pizza! Very rustic little restaurant that was quite unexpected in the middle of the rainforest.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Top-Notch Food, Service & Ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

An amazing experience worth the drive up the hill! It's up the hill on the west side of Montezuma.

Had locally-made beer that was crisp, complex and delicious! Pizzas were outstanding with wood-fired crusts. Creative toppings and highly attentive service with an attention to detail that is usually found at locations much more "sophisticated" earned our host and chef-owner a hug and three kisses on the cheek on our way out. Excellent!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible Food on a Mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This food was worth the journey in the dark! Our family of three arrived well into the Saturday night dinner rush without a reservation. We were greeted enthusiastically and a table was provided in less than 5 minutes! A good sign on what was to come. We enjoyed a moderately priced Malbec with our home-made pizza right out of their stone oven, a shrimp pasta with fresh basil and a garden fresh salad. They were kind to split our dishes in the kitchen for us, too! All food was exceptionally prepared, the service was great and the location was a drive but worth it for the food and almost magical atmosphere of the place. Five star kudos to the owners/chefs! The food was so good that we hugged the chefs before departing ! Brilliant!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, very nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our party of five was grateful to be seated on a busy night. (We had misunderstood that we did need to make a reservation that evening, but the kind staff made room for us despite our mistake.) We enjoyed the relaxing dining environment and the pizzas were delicious, too! It is a place to go for a special occasion; one of the more expensive meals I have had in Costa Rica, but a really lovely experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra y Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.