We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're in Montezuma, you must visit Tierra y Fuego” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Las Delicias Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
+506 2642 1593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you're in Montezuma, you must visit Tierra y Fuego”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We went here our last night in Montezuma and it was Fantastic. We were greeted by the owner and another man who was kind of like a liampiamesas (busboy) except he gave us our menus. The menu is not in English, just a heads up.
They use a real fire oven, the owner even let me come back and take a picture with him in the kitchen (¡yo dije a usted que nosotros daremos cinco estrellas en trip Advisor!), the pizza was fantastic (four cheese pizza) and my parents loved the home made lasagna. We had all three desserts and I loved panna cotta with chocolate. The staff was the best, like el sano banano and cocolores, super friendly welcoming place. Wish I could go back.

¡Gracias por todo, tierra y fuego!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in Montezuma. The food is delicious, and the owners are very nice and family oriented. They would go the extra mile to prepare any food you ask for. Prices are reasonable. The location is quite good, although not beach front.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quirky and lovely Italian pizzeria in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Great food, I mean really nice pizza and very quirky hosts that greet you with big smiles as you arrive after the adventurous trip up the hill. Best food in Costa Rica is typically on the coast bc of expat influence and this is certainly a good example!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“pizzoccheri in costa rica ???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

incredible italian food......pizzoccheri the original form la valtellina italy , i suggest to test la tagliata , is a original recip from italy of beef slice on a rucola salad , horned a little , very soft and good. the pizza is the best with the bufalina the first opction for me with the original mozzarella di bufala form italy .
finally , one of the best italian restaurant in all of Costa Rica .....price good is not expensive , it's only little hard to find ......use your GPS or ask every corner..............

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very good service and pizza but you have to take a taxi to go but it worth te travel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We liked everything , the service the atmosphere and te food specially the pizzaand the calzone are very good but it is outside of the village so you have to have a transport to go overthere. Taxi is about Ten dollars, so for four persons it's not so expensive.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra y Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.