We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet evening meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Las Delicias Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
+506 2642 1593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
Western Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quiet evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Tierra y Fuego is an out of the way little Italian restaurant up the mountain from Montezuma, near Delicias. There was good signage as you drove up. It was a tranquil spot away from the hustle and bustle of the beach areas, a little more like the "REAL CR". They open at 5 pm. There are candles on the tables adding to the ambiance. Food is cooked in a woodfired oven. Pastas are homemade. The pizza was delicious. We had the 4 cheese and the quality of the cheeses were excellent. We also had homemade desserts. For three of us with drinks, meals and desserts we spent about $55. We have travelled around CR extensively and for a beach area, this is comprable pricing. Only at Tico sodas in out of the way locations does one find "reasonable" pricing. For the quality of the food served here and excellent service, we were very pleased and would definitely eat there again. They also had very clean, nice restrooms. The chef came out personally to apologize for the extra time our pasta took, but it was worth the wait. The server spoke excellent English, with a wonderful accent, and drew us a map to get back to Mal Pais via a better route.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    45
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Christmas Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had the restaurant to ourselves for Christmas dinner. The pizza was excellent, as was the panna cotta we had for dessert. Service was great from a friendly, english speaking waitress who also helped us find our way to the restaurant after we mistakenly took a backroad from Cabuya up to Delicias and got lost along the way. Prices are not cheap for food in this part of Costa Rica, but once you make the trip here yourself, you will realize that it isn't easy or inexpensive to get food ingredients delivered. I thought the price was very fair for the excellent quality of the food. The atmosphere of the restaurant is also very nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Bring cash, a car, and an appetite!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

After reading the raves here we were eager to go to Tierra. Because a previous reviewer said that its a quarter mile up the road from the turn just past the river, we thought it would be a nice walk. It's over 3 miles from the base of the Montezuma River! And given that the restaurant opens at 5:30, walking in the dark is a certainty! Do not attempt this! Driving is the ONLY way to get to this restaurant! Cash only too - good thing we had that. Food was fantastic. Clearly this is a popular place for the ex-pat community. Worth the trip, if you have a car. There are gluten free options. Two entrees and one glass of wine were $40.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just outside of Montezuma in Delicias, this Italian restaurant was a perfect place to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food, music and outdoor ambience were like a dream, and Stephanie's excellent service and recommendations are top notch. Go there!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The pasta dishes are to die for. The appetizers were wonderful too, and they are excellent at catering to vegetarians. The service was great and it is definitely worth the cab ride a little ways out of town! Be sure to try their homemade limoncello with rosemary!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra y Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.