We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Las Delicias Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
+506 2642 1593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
Jupiter Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just outside of Montezuma in Delicias, this Italian restaurant was a perfect place to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food, music and outdoor ambience were like a dream, and Stephanie's excellent service and recommendations are top notch. Go there!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The pasta dishes are to die for. The appetizers were wonderful too, and they are excellent at catering to vegetarians. The service was great and it is definitely worth the cab ride a little ways out of town! Be sure to try their homemade limoncello with rosemary!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OMG Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Well, to get there you have to drive up a very scary hill so go when it's light out, coming back down is better. Once there you will be treated with a breathtaking scene of flora and fauna, a magnificent Italian kitchen (ask to take a peek), and glorious food! The owners are a charming family from Italy who really know their stuff!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontrzumz
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the best ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love eating at Tierra Y Fuego. But it is more than the food. The atmosphere is wonderful and the owners are so lovable. I take all my guest to Tierra Y Fuego. No one has ever been disappointed. In fact they are so pleased and comment that that was a highlite of their trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not going to go into a long speech, I am going to keep it short and to the point. The place is amazing, it is in Las Delicias, to get there you have to travel through the town of Montezuma, go over the Montezuma River, then up the hill. When you get to the top of the hill, keep an eye out for the small Tierra y Fuego sign on the right hand side. The road kind of forks, so make the right and go about 1/4 of a mile and you will see it on the left hand side.

The place is beautiful, the owners are from Northern Italy and super nice. We ordered the focaccia, two plates of fresh homemade pasta one with butter for the kids and one pomodoro for myself and my wife ordered the meat raviolis. WOW, amazing, I have not had pasta like that since I lived back in NJ. It was truly amazing, My wife has not stopped talking about her raviolis. If you want super nice hosts, authentic Italian cuisine and a beautiful, quiet location, make your way to Tierra Y Fuego.You will not regret it.

The bill was about $25,000 colones without a tip and that included a couple of beers a watermelon shake and lemonade for the kids. The portion of pasta was amazing, but if you go and you are a pasta eater, avoid an appetizer and order two plates of pasta as the portion is not the biggest. When the pasta is brought out, they are accompanied by a basket of bread.

Well, well worth the money. My mouth is watering just thinking about twirling my fork through that pasta. Cannot wait to go back.

Pictures coming shortly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra y Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.