We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Las Delicias Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
+506 2642 1593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
Hamilton, ON
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The pasta dishes are to die for. The appetizers were wonderful too, and they are excellent at catering to vegetarians. The service was great and it is definitely worth the cab ride a little ways out of town! Be sure to try their homemade limoncello with rosemary!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

98% Recommend
    48
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OMG Heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Well, to get there you have to drive up a very scary hill so go when it's light out, coming back down is better. Once there you will be treated with a breathtaking scene of flora and fauna, a magnificent Italian kitchen (ask to take a peek), and glorious food! The owners are a charming family from Italy who really know their stuff!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontrzumz
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love eating at Tierra Y Fuego. But it is more than the food. The atmosphere is wonderful and the owners are so lovable. I take all my guest to Tierra Y Fuego. No one has ever been disappointed. In fact they are so pleased and comment that that was a highlite of their trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not going to go into a long speech, I am going to keep it short and to the point. The place is amazing, it is in Las Delicias, to get there you have to travel through the town of Montezuma, go over the Montezuma River, then up the hill. When you get to the top of the hill, keep an eye out for the small Tierra y Fuego sign on the right hand side. The road kind of forks, so make the right and go about 1/4 of a mile and you will see it on the left hand side.

The place is beautiful, the owners are from Northern Italy and super nice. We ordered the focaccia, two plates of fresh homemade pasta one with butter for the kids and one pomodoro for myself and my wife ordered the meat raviolis. WOW, amazing, I have not had pasta like that since I lived back in NJ. It was truly amazing, My wife has not stopped talking about her raviolis. If you want super nice hosts, authentic Italian cuisine and a beautiful, quiet location, make your way to Tierra Y Fuego.You will not regret it.

The bill was about $25,000 colones without a tip and that included a couple of beers a watermelon shake and lemonade for the kids. The portion of pasta was amazing, but if you go and you are a pasta eater, avoid an appetizer and order two plates of pasta as the portion is not the biggest. When the pasta is brought out, they are accompanied by a basket of bread.

Well, well worth the money. My mouth is watering just thinking about twirling my fork through that pasta. Cannot wait to go back.

Pictures coming shortly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, and Nice People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We lived near Montezuma and went to Tierra y Fuego every Sunday. The pizza is our family's favorite in the world! Be sure to try the Tierra y Fuego Pizza and the Grilled Chicken (only on Sundays; needs to be preordered).

The owners, Monica y Pepe are really nice!

I go there every time we are in Montezuma.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra y Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.