We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tierra y Fuego

Tierra y Fuego
Las Delicias Montezuma, Montezuma 60111, Costa Rica
+506 2642 1593
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Flavor and wisdom of traditional italian cuisine.... selection of cheese and cold cuts,home made bread and wood-fired pizzas.Fresh pasta,lasagna,veggie fettuccini,sea food spaghetti. Tenderloin,ribeye steak and pork from BBQ,balsamic vinegar "tagliata" with arugula and parmesan,grilled chicken and home made desserts... WIFI-parking area-botanic garden-safe for children
ontrzumz
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the best ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love eating at Tierra Y Fuego. But it is more than the food. The atmosphere is wonderful and the owners are so lovable. I take all my guest to Tierra Y Fuego. No one has ever been disappointed. In fact they are so pleased and comment that that was a highlite of their trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Not going to go into a long speech, I am going to keep it short and to the point. The place is amazing, it is in Las Delicias, to get there you have to travel through the town of Montezuma, go over the Montezuma River, then up the hill. When you get to the top of the hill, keep an eye out for the small Tierra y Fuego sign on the right hand side. The road kind of forks, so make the right and go about 1/4 of a mile and you will see it on the left hand side.

The place is beautiful, the owners are from Northern Italy and super nice. We ordered the focaccia, two plates of fresh homemade pasta one with butter for the kids and one pomodoro for myself and my wife ordered the meat raviolis. WOW, amazing, I have not had pasta like that since I lived back in NJ. It was truly amazing, My wife has not stopped talking about her raviolis. If you want super nice hosts, authentic Italian cuisine and a beautiful, quiet location, make your way to Tierra Y Fuego.You will not regret it.

The bill was about $25,000 colones without a tip and that included a couple of beers a watermelon shake and lemonade for the kids. The portion of pasta was amazing, but if you go and you are a pasta eater, avoid an appetizer and order two plates of pasta as the portion is not the biggest. When the pasta is brought out, they are accompanied by a basket of bread.

Well, well worth the money. My mouth is watering just thinking about twirling my fork through that pasta. Cannot wait to go back.

Pictures coming shortly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, and Nice People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We lived near Montezuma and went to Tierra y Fuego every Sunday. The pizza is our family's favorite in the world! Be sure to try the Tierra y Fuego Pizza and the Grilled Chicken (only on Sundays; needs to be preordered).

The owners, Monica y Pepe are really nice!

I go there every time we are in Montezuma.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montezuma, costa rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the special treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I love this place. I live in Montezuma and am getting tired of the same restaurants every week. My boyfriend and I decided to try this place because it was a little out of town and was something different. The atmosphere is amazing. A small but comfortable area with a playground for kids. The photo was amazing, we had homemade lasagna and a Delicious thin crust pizza.

We don't go here regularly because without a car it's a little far to get to, but use it as a 'special treat' dining experience.

If you haven't been you need to go at least once before leaving Montezuma!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Montezuma and Malpais are certainly well stocked with pizzerias and Italian restaurants, but Tierra y Fuego is new and very different from most. Tucked away in the hills above Montezuma, this place has a beautiful ambience away from the downtown noise and hustle. No tin roof and plastic chairs here - this restaurant was handcrafted from beautiful tropical hardwoods, has a genuine brick forno oven, and is spotless clean. The owners and staff are warm and friendly, and Sundays are like a big Italian family feast and get-together. The pizzas and pastas were all excellent . If you go there on a Sunday, go early - they start the rotisserie chickens around 2 pm and keep them coming until the last one is polished off. This is a great place for a romantic dinner for two, or a party of 8 - 10. A great addition to Montezuma's restaurant scene.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tierra y Fuego also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tierra y Fuego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tierra y Fuego, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.