We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Ivans House to your Saves list.
Montezuma
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kestrel21...
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Montezuma- Up Close and Personal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

I have meant to submit this review for some time, but wanted to linger in the fond memories created this past February.

I spent a few weeks at Ivan's house with my wife and 2 children, ages 6 and 8, and my Mother-In-Law. It was our first time staying at Casa Rutter, Ivan's home for the first decade or so he lived in Montezuma.

The house is in the CENTER of all activity Montezuma has to offer. Restaurants, beaches, adventure tours, soccer games, bars, park, church, etc. are all within walking distance from the home.

The home is well appointed and nothing missing in terms of amenities. You will feel very comfortable and if you need anything, Ivan often checks in to be sure you have what you need.

In fact, I believe the best amenity this rental offers is the owner, Ivan Rutter. Ivan has been in Montezuma for over 10 years. He operates a successful business, known for its superior services. He takes a personal interest in your happiness and works tirelessly to ensure it.
The home is very secure, located right next to the police station. Often, the police can be seen patrolling around the home. There is also a video surveillance system on the property, and I never felt insecure during our stay.

If you want to be in the middle of the action, this is the place to stay. Treat yourself to everything Montezuma has to offer!

I'll be jealous, but happy for you!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Locatioin, location, location!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kevin V
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A Real Life Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Very few times in ones life do things exceed your expectations. This place is one of them. If you are searching for a true life adventure with an unbelievable view then this is the place.
Ivan and his staff are remarkable. They truely went out of their way to make sure everything was just perfect for us. They can arrange anything for you. From snorkeling,fishing,car rentals,diving trips, sight seeing, boat tours canopy tours.............they do it all.Just remeber theses two words............... Zuma Tours.
The house was exactly what we were searching for. A place that was safe, clean, close to shopping and the night life. We had it all.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: waking up with a cup of coffee and enjoying the view of the waves crashing on the beach
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
trvlthewr...
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Most Amazing Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

We rented this house for a week...we were 2 couples and it couldn't have been more perfect. The location was wonderful, beachfront, yet right in town. Never needed a car unless we went sight seeing in another town. There was so much to do right in Montezuma itself. We had fabulous food, weather and the people were great. As far as the owner, Ivan...where do I start. He made our trip even more exceptional. He brought us fresh fish and brought his wife one night and they showed us how to prepare the fish which was out of this world delicious! Ivan also took us personally out on his boat where we went snorkeling, and his first mate William caught fresh lobster that they later had grilled on Tortuga Island, then we continued our trip for more snorkeling and fishing. We can not thank Ivan and his wonderful wife Francesca for their hospitality. It felt like it was our home for the week...and we honestly weren't ready to leave...we'll be back for sure!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location...but really everything!
Liked least: If I have to pick...beds were firmer then we were used too...but still we slept well...no problems!
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ric m
carmel in
1 review
“the place to choose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

i stayed 2 weeks with my kids at ivans place it is in the perfect location the house is beautiful and ivan is more than a helpful he helped us fillet our fish after a great night of fishing i will return very safe and low key enviroment

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: sunrise an the porch
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
suzy-527
Old Forge, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Loved the time we had here with our family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Great location if you don't want to rent car or ATV walk to little village . close to restaurants and buses if you need to get somewhere . Police next door to house so ya feel safe. Ivan was the best host any one could ask for we have traveled many places , i would say Ivan and his family are the best.. he brought us fresh fish and checked on us to see if everything was alright.. nice indoor outdoor living feeling great view of ocean.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the relaxing feeling there and convenience
Liked least: not much
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Anthony C
Bocas Town, Panama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Incredible beach property with all the amenities of home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Ivan's house was awesome to say the least, I wish we had more time to stay longer!! The kitchen was great to cook food, the rooms were amazing and the patio area was very tranquil and relaxing to take a nap in a hammock. The owner Ivan was extremely nice and helpful with all our needs and he even booked us on a tour to Isla tortuga with his tour company Zuma Tours which was fantastic and beautiful!!! The only problem was the leaking in the house but Ivan probaly has taking care of that since we left. Ivan's house is great for all families and large groups looking for a great comfortable place to stay with a great location on Montezuma beach. Like I said great view with all the amenities you need!!! You will not regret anything staying at Ivan's house fellow travelers!!!!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The patio and kitchen area's
Liked least: The leaks in the house!
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
cfear
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Directly on the beautiful beach and right beside the downtown of Montezuma Ivan's house was a perfect choice for our stay in Montezuma. A stone throw from all the good resto's but a sweet kitchen for cooking in was exactly what we wanted. We celebrated my 30th birthday there and the memories will be with me forever. Can't wait to come back!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2011
Hola Caitlin, glad you guys choose my house to celebrate your
birth day, you have been very nice guests and hope to see you again.
Thank you,
Ciao
Ivan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$200
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
Owner
Gianmaria Ivan Rutter
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2011
Calendar Updated: 107 days ago
Note: Response rate information for this owner is unavailable.
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing
;