We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a rip!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of L Angolo Allegro

L Angolo Allegro
Montezuma, Costa Rica
(506) 2642-1111
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Restaurant details
Blanco, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a rip!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Waiters do hide in the back. Service was terrible. We waited for a sandwich for 45 minutes and when we gave up and asked to pay they charged us 7200 colones for 4 small glasses (less than 1/2 lt.) of red wine. WILL NOT GO BACK and WILL TELL EVERYONE NOT TO GO THERE.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

OK, hard to believe you'd travel for 7 hours and still eat pizza but it is the ulitmate comfort food. Pizza is great and service is good. Apparently, they even deliver take out!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Terrible place! The service is the worst I have ever experienced. Table reservation got 'lost', had to wait forever to get a table, tables were not cleared because the two waiters hid in the backroom, had to wait for over an hour to get our food, wine was just placed on our table with the corkscrew in so that we had pull the cork out ourselves...the list goes on and on! Don't go there - it's just an uncool experience, especially when you're on vacation.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We read about Tairona on trip advisor and wanted to go there but as it was closed we went to L'Angolo Allegro instead. The service was extremely friendly and the food delicious and reasonably priced. I definitely recommend this place. We paid a total of USD 40 for the two of us including a starter, main and two cocktails.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Italian recipes/Argentinean hands...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011 via mobile

....that is what it says on the menu's cover. Being from Argentina, the flavors definitely had a familiar tone. My husband and I spend 2 nights in Montezuma, and both night ate at Angolo Allegro. From pizza to home made pasta and salads, the food was excellent. There is a lot of room from improvement on the service area, but we are on vacation and should be patient.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L Angolo Allegro also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to L Angolo Allegro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L Angolo Allegro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.