We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Service Ever” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tairona Restaurante and Pizzeria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tairona Restaurante and Pizzeria
across from bus station, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Restaurant details
Olympia, Wa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst Service Ever”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I went to Costa Rica with classmates on a school trip and we received the worst service ever. The waiter was a young guy and kept ignoring us while he waited on other tables. It took many minutes before we even got a menu! We tried to make nice, but he made us feel stupid for trying to order in spanish. You hear about the laid back, nice attitude of Costa Ricans, especially in a surf town like Montezuma, but this was a horrible experience.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    12
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately closed... Owners have changed :(”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Was just back in Montezuma this past December and wanted to go back to this place because I remembered it to be pretty good years before. However, I learned that Tairona is no more and that new owners have changed the restaurant and the menu. Not to say that it's bad now, but it didn't seem like it was happening at all. Too bad...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Pizza in Costa Rica anyone? Only if you have kids in tow!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Pizzas are about the same most places but theirs was not bad. Hard to find an empty table though. A popular place to eat for young people!!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great pizza!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I was very surprised to get great pizza in CR but here it is. Definitely worth a stop :)

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Pizza and Salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My hubby had a delicious Pizza and I had a very unique and wonderful salad! Great prices and ambiance.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tairona Restaurante and Pizzeria also viewed

Cabuya, Montezuma
Cabuya, Montezuma
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tairona Restaurante and Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.