We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and a movie ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Organic, Cafe, International, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner and a movie ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Very cozy courtyard with a romantic feel. When the movie started the waiter had reserved a good spot in the movie area where we could enjoy our great food. I had the house pasta (very large portion) and my girlfriend had the chicken curry dish. We can highly recommend the garlic bread with guacamole appetizer as well. Great cinema with the newest movies! And overall a fantastic service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    63
    29
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parrita, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Iced Coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I had breakfast at this restaurant and my experience was "ok." The iced mocha that I ordered was really good, but very small for the price. The French Toast that I ordered would have been really good had it been cooked thoroughly, instead it came out very wet and mushy, I could not even eat it. The portion was large, almost enough for two, but the quality wasn't great. Also, we waited a very long time (even for Costa Rica) to get our check, and then again another 15-20 minutes before we got our change. I am here for a month and may give them another shot for dinner or lunch, in case it was just a bad day.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This was a very good restaurant it had inside and outside dining. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, something you don't find in a lot of restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor setting Good Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We had a great meal here after a long day of Hiking and Beach Hopping! Good Nachos, Smoothies and local Tico fare. We had three desserts and they were all very good. This is not cheap but fair price for very good service and good size portions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
131 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overpriced, overrated, NOT good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stopped by to have a coffee and tea, a brownie and a piece of chocolate cake. All latter three were a disaster! The water they use must terrible at least from what the black tea tasted. Both the cakes were dry like hell, literally without taste, but instead $3 each! Never again, not even for their evening movie screenings.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.