We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love sushi :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+1 888-795-8494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Santa Cruz, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love sushi :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great atmosphere!!! Sushi and service is great!! We spend a great time talking, casado there was great and big.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    53
    24
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Good food with excellent options for vegetarian people. The breakfast is included if you stay at the hotel. Also I enjoy the diary movie nights, starting at 7:30 pm excellent while you're enjoying your food.
Food is a lil bit expensive but food in Montezuma is so the price is OK considering the size of the portion. The staff are too kind with the people.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had the fish and my girlfriend had the nachos. Both of our meals were excellent! The servers were very friendly and courteous. Unfortunately we tried this place on our last night in town. We would have eaten here several more times if we knew ow good it was.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This restaurant is directly connected to the Ylang-Ylang resort we stayed in, in Montezuma. The food is PHENOMENAL, staff OUTSTANDING. When we weren't at the Ylang-Ylang eating, we were here. Fresh, delicious awesomeness everytimewe went. Can't recommend them enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not typically a review writer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This isn't a review I want to write, but feel inclined to do so after this evening. My boyfriend and I read several reviews on Trip Advisor and decided El Sano Banano was our spot for a low key date night. We arrived at 7ish for the movie and ordered a Margarita to start. It was a solid drink and fairly strong. The ambiance is nice and the place seemed clean. Slowish service (even for Costa) but friendly staff nonetheless. Based on the reviews we both ordered the catch of the day, since people seemed to love the fish over some other options. We were told the catch was tuna, however, what arrived was VERY oily Mahi Mahi covered in garlic slices. It was overcooked and didn't taste fresh at all. Our vegetables were luke warm-to completely cold and the potatoes tasted suspiciously like instant. I realize this is a little harsh, but at $14+ a plate we were pretty disappointed, and have stomachaches to boot. We may have caught the place on an off night, but my advice is skip dinner and get a drink for the movie - the movie was fun and the atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.