We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food, the ambiance, the service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 36 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Organic, Café, International, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The food, the ambiance, the service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A great variety of food - seafood especially! The patio seating in the back is where it's at. Candlelit tables and tree lights make for a relaxing meal experience. The staff is very friendly and you'll get your occasional grasshopper that wants to eat with you at the table, that's ok. There usually are movie nights every night that is free to watch while you eat. Just a great restaurant downtown for a meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    61
    26
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Finally got some good food that wasn't rice and beans. Chicken Caeser Salad and Thai spring rolls, gazpacho.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Yummy, fast and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The menu offers a wide variety of fresh and healthy options. We ordered drinks, an appetizer and two main dishes. All of them were tasty, nicely presented and provided filling portions. We only stayed in Montezuma for two days and ate two meals here, so that tells you something!

The best part of the restaurant was the service. Our waiter, Hubert, was so helpful in filling us in on things to do in town as well as arranging reservations at Ylang Ylang restaurant, which has the same owners.

We will definitely be back if we are in Montezuma again. Thanks again, Hubert!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food, firendly service wi-fi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We liked our meals and drinks and wifi.The ice tea and Thai curry were different and tasty. This is a nice place to stop for a rest and meal. We sat outdoors and came back a second time during our three day stay.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good food - reasonable value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

went here for pizza/film night. The pizza itself was nice but slightly overpriced. I would recommend eating here if there is a film showing - it makes the food good value if you include the cost of watching the film!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Owner at El Sano Banano Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for your positive remarks. However, I have to disagree with you about the Pizza being slightly overpriced. The 5 stars you gave us for service is part of the reason. The other reasons are the quality ingredients that go into our pizza and food across the menu. What many restaurants do on the peninsula is hire foreigners working illegally to bring down their government associated costs. Like social security and medical benefits. We don't and won't.
Consider it similar to Fair Trade policies and you will understand why we operate the way we do and offer the very reasonable prices for all the items on our menu.

Sincerely,

Lenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.