We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+1 888-795-8494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good food. Friendly staff, a bit pricey for the area. They also have movie night which is a cool option. The place is well kept

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    51
    24
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snowmass, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“El Sano Banano Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I loved the Fresh organic food at the restaurant, the wait staff was so accommodating. I really enjoyed shopping on the street with the venders. It was a wonderful trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A little pricey but well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I almost stayed away from this little gem because I had real it's on the pricier side, which it is, but it so worth it. After two days in Montezuma, this was the best meal I had yet (and we ate at about 6 other restaurants). Not only that, the ambiance was absolutely perfect. The bar was so nice and upscale, the lounge was comfy, the patio was like a tropical paradise and even indoors at the table was nice. It was also the cleanest restaurant we'd seen yet. The service was wonderful, it took us a total of 10 minutes to get our food (we had breakfast). They make their bread fresh, and it's amazing! The presentation is wonderful, your meal comes out on a decorated plate and even a glass of orange juice comes in a fancy glass with a fresh orange slice and decorative straw. We're going back tomorrow for dinner for our last night.
Recap/positive:
- fast service
- delicious food (best we had yet)
- ambiance
- Clean
- Presentation

It's about what you pay at a decent restaurant in the states, but the presentation, service and food quality make it absolutely worth it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Enjoyed Happy Hour here and tried new refreshing drinks. Bartender introduced us to a local drink made with Quatro plumas, and mint... Very refreshing. He was very friendly as a bartender, and also a great waiter at the sister resort Ylang Ylang. We were also informed the restaurant shows a nightly movie.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Outstanding customer service, Sano Banano is now my only option for sure, when visiting Montezuma!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.