We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, Pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+1 888-795-8494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, Pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The food was good enough. The atmosphere the best in Montezuma as far as clean, neat, indoors, movie playing, etc. The service is the fastest in Montezuma. However, we spent over $100 for 3 of us for a drink and dinner each.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uumatter, Owner at El Sano Banano Restaurant, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thanks for your positive review! We appreciate that you noticed the positive atmosphere and swift service. We do our best to please our guests and provide a satisfying experience. El Sano Banano is a fun restaurant that offers a unique experience to its customers.

Regarding the word "Pricey", please be aware that what you paid also included tax and gratuities... which turns out to be 23% of your bill. 10% goes to your waiter and 13% to the government. This is mandatory in Costa Rica... and all of our waiters happen to be local Costa Ricans, by the way.

Add to this the fact that Montezuma is a rather isolated village and most organic produce is grown in cooperatives in the Central Valley and shipped to the tip of the peninsula in refrigerated trucks. The price of fuel in Costa Rica is expensive, around $5.50 gallon. We bake our own bread, make our own coconut milk and prepare everything fresh, meaning we, along with our sister enterprise, Ylang Ylang Beach Resort, are the largest employer of Costa Ricans in the southern tip of the peninsula and offer the most unique options for our guests.

Thank you for your visit!

Patricia


So with this in mind, our prices are rather cheap, especially considering our use of top quality cooking oils and mostly organic ingredients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    52
    24
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The nachos are so good, and the "magic mocha chiller" really is magic! Good food, drinks, and service. Would definitely go there again next time we're in Montezuma.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were impressed with the location and food at this resort. They show movies in the restaurant once a week which I thought was a great idea. I didn't get to see any of the hotel rooms but the restaurant was clean and had a good variety of foods.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

One of our favorite places in Montezuma, for its uniqueness. The menu is more extensive than most places in Zuma, and it's always fresh and they pride themselves in using local, fresh products that are healthy and delicious. It's also unique in that the service is quicker than most places there, and also very attentive. There are TV's that you can watch sporting events from around the world and they are very good to cater to your needs, and spent a lot of time finding the right basketball game for our friend. The fact that they show movies is just outstanding, a great dinner, movie, drinks, by the ocean. Love it, please don't ever stop this. I also love their fruit products that they sell, and will order some on line - like super fresh fruit roll ups with fruit from the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A spiritual place :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The food is very good, the staff very organized. I liked the spiritual banners and motivational inscriptions on the walls. You can also sit outside - either facing the street and watching the colorful people, or in the backyard (very romantic with candlelight)...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.