We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+1 888-795-8494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a very nice meal at El Sanso Banano. We sat outside amidst the trees and dimly lit back "yard" of the restaurant. We all ordered casadas and had an appetizer of fried plantains. The casadas here were substantially more than you'd pay at one of the Sodas nearby, however, the service was exceptionally friendly and still, for dinner and drinks for 4 we paid substantially less than you'd pay most anywhere in the US. They also take credit cards.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    55
    25
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a fun movie night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Went to El Sano Banano with my friend to watch a movie and have some drinks on a Wednesday night. I ordered a ceviche to eat while watching the movie, and it was one of the best ceviches I have had. The drinks were also well-made.

It was great being able to watch a current American movie, since Netflix does not work down in Costa Rica (unless you want to watch TV series - no movies).

The only complaint I had was the seats very uncomfortable seats. They were ok for half an hour but not for two hours plus. Also, once the movie started some of the staff did not really have 'movie etiquette' as they were talking loud to each other, and one was just singing to himself!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Reliable service, varied menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great place for tasty food, generous portions and they make a mean margarita. Added bonus is movie night is every night where you can enjoy your meal and a current movie! Best to arrive prior to the movie to order your food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The staff was amazing. Always taking care of us and our family. The hotel is cute and the price amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The food and service was fantastic, the Caprina drinks were amazing. Whats nice about this place is you can eat in the courtyard with a nice romantic setting or hit the patio along the main street in Montezuma. You truly can have two different experiences.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.