We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great drinks and food with movies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+1 888-795-8494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great drinks and food with movies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Affordable food and drinks with excellent service. Indoor and outdoor seating with a large movie screen indoors. Movies were played every other night. Fish tacos recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    52
    24
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I ate here but would not want to stay here. Their food was very tasty and they offer vegetarian dishes. I loved the patacones with bean dip and guacamole. For accommodations, El Sano Banano is very, very central. And Montezuma can get hot, dusty and crowded.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fairy garden dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A small group and I had dinner there. Prices were average, our dinners averaged about $10-12 each. Food was nicely prepared. I had an avocado wrap, which I would recommend. The garden is charming at night with lights strung in the trees. The waiter was very charming and helpful and spoke excellent English. Portions were smaller than usual in CR and still sufficient. Overall a good experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great for movie night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The food is good and decent enough for bar food. The real fun is whatever movie they are watching that night you will be left whenever you see that movie again remembering the little town of Montezuma that you saw it in. Great spot to start your night. After seeing the movie there are some fire performers that show up around nine thirty and that is a sight you will want to see!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUDAMERICA
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“good service, but too many dollars for too little food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to this restaurant and the service is very good with a great atmosphere, we ordered fish and I didn't know that Pargo (loopster) was little, so I had a 300 grams fish with a little portion of mashed potatoes and vegetables, I didn't expect to pay 20 dollars in Costa Rica (which is not little) for a dish and need to eat chips in the hotel because portions are so little. Mashed potatoes are not such a big investment, they could put more.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.