We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+1 888-795-8494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 32 restaurants in Montezuma
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Vegetarian, International, Café, Organic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was by far our best breakfast during our trip to Costa Rica. The typical Costa Rican breakfast (eggs, rice, beans, corn tortillas, and plantains) was just what we were looking for. All while watching monkeys play. Great spot!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    95
    48
    23
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brownies and shakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you ever sit down and order at El Sano Banano, you must have place in your belly for shakes and or the warm brownies with ice cream, the best of the best - silly good! Food over all is good at El Sano. Staff nice.
Things to improve, bath rooms. Otherwise a pearl on the street for goodies.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here one night and had a spacious room, albeit a little noisy outside . The free breakfast was very good, excellent coffee too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Another winner in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The service here, and the courtyard and it's monkey visitors keep me coming back to this restaurant. We love coming for movie night and relaxing over dinner and enjoying Montezuma's only cinematic offering. Sana Banano is one one the few places in Montezuma that takes credit cards, but it does have slightly higher prices than similar places in town.Compared to the states though, it remains a great value and a lovely place to dine.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Movie and a Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is really hte only full service multi option restaurant in Montezuma. You get a movie with your dinner. Just don't have high hopes for the movie. Remmber that many of the places in town do not have TV in the rooms, nor much in the terms of internet connections. So this movie is it.

Now the food is good. The portions are large. And overall we would give the place a 4.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.