We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Organic, Cafe, International, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Fun place and good food. Located in this funy town called Montezuma. A modern Hippie town with an awesoem waterfall. We had pasta and chicken.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    65
    29
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“i keep coming back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

the mahi mahi costa sol is one of my favorite dishes. a grilled mahi mahi in a shrimp cream sauce. it comes with a potato pancake and roasted vegetables. i love el sano banano. for me nothing to dislike.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foresthill, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

when we went there it was literally pouring rain- cozy place with delicious breakfast! my husband had the french toast- which was perfect! I had the rancho huveous- yummy!! Our waiter was attentive! Food was delicious, fast service and nice atmosphere- perfect breakfast!! Wish we would of been able to check out town more- appeared to be super cool!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
“excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My girlfriend and I were in Montezuma for a week and ate there everyday.The seafood curry soup was the best we've ever had.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Dad, What have you gotten us into?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

When my family and I visited Montezuma, I recommended some of the restaurants that had high ratings. It was on this basis, that we went into El Sano Banano.On seeing the menu, my sons commented "Dad, What have you gotten us into? Just about all they have is vegan stuff". Since we are not vegetarians, many of the offerings had little appeal. We opted for the special, which was a fish dish and ended up being very tasty. The service was good. Like many of the restaurants in Montezuma, the facilities were dimly lit, which takes a little getting used to. Although we enjoyed the food, it was not our favorite or one that we would want to return to.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.