We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite place in Montezuma” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sano Banano Restaurant

El Sano Banano Restaurant
Across from the Park | Next to the Supermarket, Montezuma, Costa Rica
+506 2642 0638
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Montezuma
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Organic, Cafe, International, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of Montezuma with a great outdoor patio. We serve vegetarian, vegan, sushi, pasta, chicken, fresh seafood and much much more...
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Our favorite place in Montezuma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The breakfast menu was good, the lunch menu was fantastic, and the dinner menu was great. Perfect place for vegetarians and tex-mex fans. They also had all of the traditional Costa Rican dishes, sushi, and some other choices thrown in there. A bit pricy, but good for the quality of the food. The majority of the staff spoke English very well but sometimes confused edits made to an order. I would highly recommend the Buddah Burrito, the Quesadillas, and the Traditional Black Bean Soup, but would stay away from the nachos because the cheese re-hardened before I even got my plate. Movies with dinner were a great catch, although some nights were better than others.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    63
    28
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrboro, NC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good vegan options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had the veggie fajitas, which came with three little fried tortilla cups filled with beans, salsa, and guacamole. Very tasty!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“chocolate pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Wow! The pies are to die for!! The staff is really friendly and helpfull.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boys from Kentucky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a delightful place to dine. Everyone from the wait staff to the chef were great. The mahi mahi was excellent.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Pretty good! Fun with a movie...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner at El Sano Banano. The service here is much quicker and more attentive than at other restaurants in Montezuma, and the food was delicious. I really enjoyed the fajitas, and it was fun to catch a movie during dinner.

I think each night's movie title is displayed on a sign outside, and you can find out the next two movies by inquiring at the cashier. They also have a big TV that was showing football/soccer.

Great place, would go again if in Montezuma.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sano Banano Restaurant also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Sano Banano Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sano Banano Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.