We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Proyecto Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Proyecto Lodge
Save
You added Proyecto Lodge to your Saves list
Montezuma Beach | 100 Meters After Montezuma Waterfalls, Montezuma 506, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Montezuma, Costa Rica
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Honestly I think this is one of the better hostels in Montezuma. The owners Vill and Kerri are super nice and they do absolutely anything the can to make sure your stay is nice. There is a cool little semi-private beach to the left, tide pools to the right, and then like 3 more beaches past that so it is in an absolutely beautiful place. Their surf instructor Maykol is one of the best in zuma and hes a pretty awesome dude too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for your kind review! We agree: MAYKOL is the BEST INSTRUCTOR on the PENINSULA (and a super cool dude!). Pura Vida and please swing back by the lodge anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
11
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresh Meadows, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The first time I traveled alone outside the United States was this March, when I visited Montezuma. As a lone female, I was a little nervous and didn't really know what to expect. I worried about things like getting lost (this happened) or losing my ATM card (this also happened). I'm so happy that I chose to stay at the Proyecto Lodge! Kerri and Vill, the owners, made me feel completely at home and were very helpful when it came to recommendations, setting up activities, and introducing me around to other guests. Whatever minor setbacks that I faced, I never felt like I was completely alone, because Vill and Kerri were there to help.

As far as the lodge itself, the grounds are beautiful. The yard and most of the rooms overlook the beach, which you can always hear in the background. A short path leads down to the water and to the natural tide pools, where you can take a dip in the hot afternoon. I opted for a large private room upstairs, and it stayed surprisingly cool due to the breeze off the ocean. It's a 10 minute walk into town and the trailhead to Montezuma Falls is a 2 minute walk away (Go there too!).

All of the guests that stayed at Proyecto while I was there were enrolled in either Spanish, TEFL, or surfing classes. Everyone was extremely nice and interesting, and there was a feeling of community without it being overbearing. In other words, everyone would do their own thing during the day and would hang together at night.

I couldn't have had a better time on my first trip alone and owe a lot of that to Proyecto Montezuma. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for your nice words! We are so glad you had a great first trip aboard. You are welcome here anytime (and, maybe you will go home with your ATM card next time ;-). Thanks again and Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Staying at Proyecto was a perfect choice for us! Great location, beautiful views, and Kerri and Bill (owners) and the staff are warm and inviting. Also they can help you organize some local activities and spanish lessons. A great place! If going to the Montezuma area its definitely a place to check out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thanks for your kind review! We hope to see you back in paradise soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Amazing people, amazing project, amazing Montezuma !
We really had a wonderfull experience with so friendly Kerri and Vill (owners). We stayed in Jungle lodge which is very simple but with private bathroom. Ocean view and natural swimming pool are so nice. We also recommand to do surf lesson with Mickael who's so nice and good teacher. Definitly a place to visit in montezuma !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! Maykol loved reading your kind words about the surf lessons too! Have a great trip and we will follow your journeys on your blog! Thanks so much! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I had really nice time here, the location of the lodge is perfect, amazing view, private beach, few minutes walking to the waterfalls.. :) Kerri and Bill are amazing, they will help you with all your needs. :) I also took private spanish classes and they helped me a lot. Hope to go back soon! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! We hope to see you back in paradise soon! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

staying at Proyecto was a great choice. nice people run the place and organize a lot of fun activities. spanish and surfing lessons are held by locals. really helpful and efficient. definitely a place to visit on a costarican trip!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review! We hope you come back soon! More Spanish classes and fun at the lodge, just get back anytime you can! All the best and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at proyecto lodge. The location was ideal, about 10 mins from the town centre, so away from any nightly noise, but close enough to enjoy the stroll into town. There was a beach right next door to the lodge, with a fresh water pool complete with rope swing to cool off from the sun. The staff were super helpful and the packaged activities were perfect to fully enjoy what montezuma had to offer without any hassle. Great way to spend a birthday! I would highly recommend this place and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crgirlMaryland, Manager at Proyecto Lodge, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
We are so glad you spent your birthday with us (we should make it a tradition). We hope to see you back here soon! Thanks so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
3.4 mi away
Agua Vista
Agua Vista
#1 of 19 in Montezuma
5.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
64.9 mi away
Hostel Pura Vida Montezuma
Hostel Pura Vida Montezuma
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Proyecto Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Proyecto Lodge

Address: Montezuma Beach | 100 Meters After Montezuma Waterfalls, Montezuma 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROYECTO LODGE Natural Swimming Pools, Secluded Beach, Surf & Tour Packages, Kitchen, WiFi, BBQ Grill, Hammocks, Large Second Floor Balcony & Amazing Ocean Front View ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Proyecto Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.