We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monkeys everywhere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Monkeys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Monkeys
500 meters above Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Monkeys everywhere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fantastic location, quick walk to the beach, and monkeys were everywhere around the property, they put on a great show, BBQ at night was fantastic. Basic rooms but good value for the price. Cool little town!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Nice basic rooms, private patios with hammocks. Lovely pool and grounds. Owner seemed unconcerned with service during the off season, but was very nice. A bit of a hike from town. The howler monkeys gave us a show!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place has a great location - right near the beach, very close to town center, nice pool, lovely grounds and plants all around. There was a bbq in the garden both nights we stayed there. Our room did not smell the best. It smelled like a backed up sewer the entire trip. The breakfast was not very good either.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We were not lucky enough to see monkeys here, but the owners aren't responsible for the coming and goings of the local wildlife. :)


Very quiet and clean.

Especially nice owners.
Good value.
Near town but far enough away to be quit.

Near a nice beach but not in walking distance for anybody due to being up the mountain.. Walking down would be no problem for the fairly fit.

Room Tip: Costa Rican rooms do not come with wash clothes and seldom with glasses. Often only a sheet on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

there are 6 cabins suitet in 3 nice houses. the rooms are basic but clean and ood equiped (ac, fridge and we had a coffeemaker). in front is a table, where we always had our breakfast in the morning sun. the beds are good. the showers hot. our kids (3 and 5 years old) loved the big pool. wifi was available at the pool with its seaview. the owner is very helpful. the location is at the road to montezuma, but i is really quiet and a 15 minute walk down the steep hill to montezuma.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barva, Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

The pool was very clean and just about perfect. There were hammocks on the front deck that were very comfortable. The A/C worked well and the beds were surprisingly comfy.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are right by the road, you may want to ask for one furthest away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed here right after we got married. The owners are super nice and very laid back. Our room was very clean with a big shower, mini fridge and AC. We spent a lot of time on the front porch in the hammocks. They just put in a pool that is phenominal! We stayed in room 3, however they all seen equally nice. Also there is a wonderful breeze that you don't get when staying down the hill closer to town. If you have a car this is the perfect place. We didn't have one and the 300 meters to town is ok going down, but is quite a hike going back up. ( I only did it once!! We paid a taxi after that!) Advice: Buy food from market in town. Before 7 or late at night there is no food available (other that fri & sat outside Chicos)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Three Monkeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Monkeys

Address: 500 meters above Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty lodging in Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Monkeys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Three Monkeys to your Saves list