We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast track to surfing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks 'n Swells Surf Camp

Peaks 'n Swells Surf Camp
500 Metros Norte De La Escuela, Montezuma 98022, Costa Rica
011-506-2642-0067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Activities in Montezuma
Type: Surf Camps
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Peaks 'n Swells Surf Camp provides incredible, one of a kind beachfront lodging, top surf instructors and sought-after yoga instructors to deliver a high performance surf camp in an uncrowded and stunning part of Costa Rica. Peaks offers a fast track surf experience for those wanting to progress in their surfing or beginners who are serious about wanting to learn to surf. The small camp sizes in an uncrowded area offering a variety of surf breaks will ensure an unintimidating and true surfing experience. Live your dream! Surf with Peaks 'n Swells!
Hood River, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Fast track to surfing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Not only are the accommodations beautiful, serene, and relaxing, the staff is beyond attentive and great fun! The food was delicious, with tropical variety, the rooms were very comfortable with simplistic elegance, and the surf coaches were all ready to teach you to be on the fast track of surfing! Wether you are going to Costa Rica to relax, to learn how to surf, or just to get great refined coaching, Peaks 'n Swells is an amazing place to go! I can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Salmon, Washington
1 review
“Peaks & Swell”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Really one of the funnest trips I have been on in a long time, super nice house, excellent food, great surf, Hillary & staff run a really nice program. Really good coaching staff and instructions. If your looking for a fun family/friend trip check this out for sure. Plus the water is warm and friendly.
M

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Even Better Year Two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Maybe the best thing I can say about Peaks N Swells is that we chose to go back this year for another week of family surf camp, and it was even better than year one (which was amazing!). All of the reviews site top-notch surf instruction with Chris Johnson, and this year he was joined by Martin who provided a more analytical approach. Together they enabled everyone in my family to ride bigger and better waves, and have a blast doing it! While the surfing is the centerpiece, it's all the many, many details that make this family camp so outstanding: fresh, healthy food; beach bonfires; regular monkey and iguana sightings; comfortable and beautiful accommodations; professional photography; and daily yoga with the incredible Dagmar Spremberg.

The small size of the camp makes it very personal-- we felt more like guests of the Harrison family and left with many new friends. It's not a "one-size-fits-all" experience. Hillary tailors every aspect of the day-- from which break to surf to what time dinner is served-- to you and your family. Kids activities might include climbing coconut trees, checking out the turtle sanctuary, or walking into town for a fruit smoothie while the adults do yoga. Again, the staff is tuned into the kids' energy levels and interests. I've been home for 4 days and am already trying to plan a trip for the fall!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best adventure vacation experience - fun, challenging and relaxing at the same time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I can't recommend Peaks 'n Swells more highly. My family and I were in search of an alternative to our usual winter ski/snowboard trip, and wanted something just as fun, relaxing, and enjoyable. Having spent a week at Peaks 'n Swells, we now can't wait to get back there!

The entire experience was a special one - personalized surf, yoga, massage, and pure relaxation experience -- all in whatever combination each guest desires. Peaks 'n Swells home base is a gorgeous property that's right on the ocean, and within walking distance of the town of Montezuma, complete with cute shops, delicious restaurants, and fantastic ice cream.

The learning-to-surf experience that Peaks n' Swells provides is fantastic, with instructors who tailor their teaching to each person's ability and motivation. We were a group of 8, and all had wonderful times! And, even for those of us who were more experienced surfers going into the week, the instructors provided challenge, learning, and fun.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Trip of a Lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

We recently returned from a week at Peaks n' Swells and can't say enough good things about the experience. Fantastic food, excellent instruction - all in a beautiful and lush setting. By the end of the week, given the boutique nature of the camp, every person on staff - Hillary, Karen, Chitsa, Darwin, Josie, Lorraine, Vas - felt like family. The instructors - Martin, Gemma, Chris - were fantastic, combining technique, safety, positive reinforcement and love for the sport. We were all raw beginners and all (even our nine-year-old) were able to get up on the first day. To cap everything, Karen took beautiful photos to document our adventure. We loved every minute and can't wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peaks 'n Swells Surf Camp also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Peaks 'n Swells Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks 'n Swells Surf Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.