We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best yoga learning experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Yoga

Montezuma Yoga
Hotel Los Mangos, Montezuma 10009, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 Activities in Montezuma
Type: Health Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beautiful Yoga Studio and Retreat Center with ocean view in the charming beach town Montezuma. only 5 minutes walking distance from town you will find our beautiful open air studio . Come and practice Anusara Inspired & Vinyasa Flow Yoga to the sound of monkeys, birds and the ocean. All of our instructors are highly trained and experienced, and you will get the attention you deserve. Special candlelight & live music classes on sunday evenings and donation yoga classes on saturdays with the proceeds supporting our local recycling project.We also host yoga retreats with international teachers and yoga teacher trainings as well as individual yoga vacation packages. Please refer to our website for more details and prices. We look forward to seeing you on the mat!
Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The best yoga learning experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I spent one month in Montezuma at La Escuela Del Sol and took yoga with Silvia and Dagmar. They are absolutely wonderful! Both ladies are truly warm people, but also very encouraging and challenging. I have taken yoga at several other places sporadically, and this is the ONLY studio I wish I could practice at. Dagmar is extremely kind hearted and a great role model for both beginners and experts alike. I really loved the classes and I hope I can travel again soon to study yoga with them!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Owner at Montezuma Yoga, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you so much!!!! Really appreciate your enthusiastic feedback and hope to see you again!!! Until then, enjoy the practice! All the best from Montezuma, Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montezuma, Puntarenas, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“knowledgeable teachers, beautiful space”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I did several classes with both Dagmar and Sylvia at the open air studio in Montezuma. Both teachers are both calm and dynamic offering a lovely experience with great attention to the individual students in the room. In the classes, there were people of all levels and the teachers paid close attention giving different options for the students. There is an emphasis on breathing, noticing your own self in your body, and tuning inwards. Classes are peaceful, but also challenging- a great combination. I'd recommend Sylvia's classes to anyone wanting a greater understanding of proper alignment! Dagmar's voice is like butter, and she has a real knack for personal adjustments. Wonderful studio, and definitely worth making the effort to take a few classes.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yoga in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days in Montezuma recently, during our stay I took myself and my 2 daughters aged 16 & 11 years to 2 yoga sessions at Montezuma Yoga at Hotel Los Mangos. The setting was inspirational as was Sylvia,our teacher. My daughters were beginners and she made them feel very welcome and helped them with the different techniques. If you are visiting Montezuma this is a must do, to be able to have a yoga session in the open air to the sound of birds, wildlife and the ocean is a truly uplifting and relaxing experience and one I will not forget.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Owner at Montezuma Yoga, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I am so happy to hear this! Thank you so much and enjoy your travels! namaste, dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Learn Yoga from Intuitive Teachers in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I spent 4 weeks in Montezuma broadening my yoga practise with Dagmar and Sylvia. The studio and environs are a perfect complement to a well rounded yoga practise. The classes can be restorative or challenging and i found the teachers to be very aware of what kind of practise the students need. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Owner at Montezuma Yoga, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
thank you! It was a pleasure having you in class for 4 weeks and seeing you going deeper and becoming stronger every week.....what a great gift to yourself :) all the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing teachers, amazing yoga, unforgettable experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Whether you're a beginner or an experienced yogi this place will give you an amazing experience. The view speaks for itself overlooking the ocean and hearing the monkeys and birds in the surrounding trees, but the teachers are what make it a great hour and half of your day. Both Dagmar and Silvia are there to help you enjoy and deepen your practice in whatever way they can. Don't be afraid to speak with either of them before or after class with any questions you may have. You will not be disappointed and if you don't love yoga yet, you will!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Owner at Montezuma Yoga, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you, we appreciate your sweet feedback and you were one of our longest dedicated students , 12 weeks every day!!!! Looking forward to seeing you again some day.....keep up the good practice :) saludos de montezuma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Yoga also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Yoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.