We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yoga in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montezuma Yoga

Montezuma Yoga
Hotel Los Mangos, Montezuma 10009, Costa Rica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 18 activities in Montezuma
Type: Health Clubs
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Beautiful Yoga Studio and Retreat Center with ocean view in the charming beach town Montezuma. only 5 minutes walking distance from town you will find our beautiful open air studio . Come and practice Anusara Inspired & Vinyasa Flow Yoga to the sound of monkeys, birds and the ocean. All of our instructors are highly trained and experienced, and you will get the attention you deserve. Special candlelight & live music classes on sunday evenings and donation yoga classes on saturdays with the proceeds supporting our local recycling project.We also host yoga retreats with international teachers and yoga teacher trainings as well as individual yoga vacation packages. Please refer to our website for more details and prices. We look forward to seeing you on the mat!
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yoga in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent 3 wonderful days in Montezuma recently, during our stay I took myself and my 2 daughters aged 16 & 11 years to 2 yoga sessions at Montezuma Yoga at Hotel Los Mangos. The setting was inspirational as was Sylvia,our teacher. My daughters were beginners and she made them feel very welcome and helped them with the different techniques. If you are visiting Montezuma this is a must do, to be able to have a yoga session in the open air to the sound of birds, wildlife and the ocean is a truly uplifting and relaxing experience and one I will not forget.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Owner at Montezuma Yoga, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
I am so happy to hear this! Thank you so much and enjoy your travels! namaste, dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    4
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Learn Yoga from Intuitive Teachers in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I spent 4 weeks in Montezuma broadening my yoga practise with Dagmar and Sylvia. The studio and environs are a perfect complement to a well rounded yoga practise. The classes can be restorative or challenging and i found the teachers to be very aware of what kind of practise the students need. Highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Owner at Montezuma Yoga, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
thank you! It was a pleasure having you in class for 4 weeks and seeing you going deeper and becoming stronger every week.....what a great gift to yourself :) all the best to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing teachers, amazing yoga, unforgettable experience!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Whether you're a beginner or an experienced yogi this place will give you an amazing experience. The view speaks for itself overlooking the ocean and hearing the monkeys and birds in the surrounding trees, but the teachers are what make it a great hour and half of your day. Both Dagmar and Silvia are there to help you enjoy and deepen your practice in whatever way they can. Don't be afraid to speak with either of them before or after class with any questions you may have. You will not be disappointed and if you don't love yoga yet, you will!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enjoylifenewyork, Owner at Montezuma Yoga, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you, we appreciate your sweet feedback and you were one of our longest dedicated students , 12 weeks every day!!!! Looking forward to seeing you again some day.....keep up the good practice :) saludos de montezuma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Yoga just for the money!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This location and his beautiful surrounding landscape unfortunately don't offer good yoga teachers, only people that use this word to make money. For example, my teacher Silvia Nevjinsky never had a studio in New York as she says in his curriculum! He started doing yoga just before starting to teach it there. This place is apparently well-organized and' half-a-scam.. any gym in the world can give a better service...for 1/4 of the money!

We are happy person but not stupid

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Montezuma Yoga, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hola Daynisa,
I am sorry that you didn't like your experience at Montezuma Yoga and respect your opinion, however I am surprised about your review as it is stating false facts and therefore i like to reply to you.....first of all we do not state anywhere that Silvia Nevjinsky owned a yoga studio in NY. Silvia has been practicing Vinyasa Flow Yoga since 1998. In New York she studied intensively with Meg Carlough, April Martucci and Melissa Mitchell . She is a registered Yoga teacher with the Yoga Alliance since September 2005 and has further studied anatomy and kinesiology with Irene Dowd and Paula Tursi. She has been teaching for a few years and is already teaching at Montezuma Yoga since March 2011. So I don't know why you are writing such false facts....However I am the founder and director of Montezuma Yoga and have been teaching here for over 11 years and as you can see in all the other reviews besides your own, people have great experiences and we are very dedicated to provide a supportive and inspiring environment. We also offer discounted class cards to tourists and residents are practicing yoga for half price...Every saturday we offer a donation yoga class with all proceeds going to the local recycling project......Wishing you all the Best, enjoy the practice, Namaste Dagmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Dagmar is wonderful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a beautiful location. Dagmar's vinyasa flow classes were great - I have been doing yoga for some time, and feel like I gained a lot from practicing with her.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montezuma Yoga also viewed

Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
Montezuma, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Montezuma Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montezuma Yoga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montezuma Yoga to your Saves list