We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful people , beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montezuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
Save
You added Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel to your Saves list
50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
banff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful people , beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Beautiful place with a lovely welcoming staff. Nice rooms, close to town, security guard at night for safety. Great breakfast . It is located In the forest with nice views. staff helpful and knowledgeable about the area and willing to help you out .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    38
    10
    9
    2
See reviews for
2
28
67
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Best breaky I have ever had in a hostel! The hostel itself is in good condition and the beds aren't bad. The dorms are all sharing a ceiling so it can get noisy at night, but it is well run by friendly staff! It is up the hill so try avoiding arriving at night, or in the hear of the day!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I went by to check out the facility in late March. My sister was speaking with reception and there was a dog lying on a nearby bench. I gently leaned in to pet him/her and was bit on my hand and bleeding within seconds! I don't think that startled the dog since I approached very slowly, but something in that creature snapped. The guy at reception was horrified but useless. My sister had to ask him for some peroxide and bandaids. I ran to the kitchen to rinse my bleeding hand. All I remembered was fangs and a growl at me before I must've closed my eyes and screamed. The other people staying there was startled by what had happened but told me that there was a sign that says not to pet the dog. ARE YOU KIDDING ME??! You have a pit-bull who tends to bite people at a PUBLIC HOSTEL??! That's like making a sign to warn people to not board the sinking ship, but if it goes down. Oh well, your fault. You didnt see the sign. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE. Irresponsible management.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzenelcielocr, Manager at Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
We work so hard to make our hostel the way that it is. It always breaks my heart to get a review like this.

We are very sorry that Canela snapped at you. However, you didn't even stay with us, so to say, "never stay here", is not a fair statement. You were just passing by to see if one of your friends had left something from a previous stay, and disrespected us. We do have a sign, a very BIG sign warning, NOT TO PET THE DOG. She has been abused and we are doing or finest to take care of her and make sure that she does not become, "just another street dog in montezuma", and belongs to a loved home.

We are a private hostel, not a public space.We can not watch every person who comes in to the hostel to make sure that they know not to touch Canela, while sleeping, so we made a very big sign above her! (PLEASE NOTE: she is on a leash as well.)

The reason that everybody looked at you horrified when Canela, the dog snapped, is that you didn't even think before petting and strange, SLEEPING dog, with a sign right above her, stating not to touch.

Thank you for this comment. Canela no longer has a chance at Luz for the owner is kicking her out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herselt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This comfy hostel with hammocks, very clean rooms and bathrooms, and a really outstanding breakfast was such good value for money (dam: 15 usd). The staff is also very friendly: they helped me booking my dorm in San Jose and called the hostel with their land line! To be recommended

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I just fell in love with this place! Because of the breakfast and lodge, it's easy to meet people. And it's a really short walk to the town and waterfall and other wonderful places. I stayed two nights longer and I was sad to leave after that. Breakfast is so good, the coffee is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We really liked this hostel. The dorms were cool and quiet with mosquito nets on the doors and windows. The kitchen was good and breakfast were excellent. It's a bit of a way up the hill, but not too far away from town.

It is crazily expensive ($32 for 2 dorm beds, not even the luxury dorm), but it is a nice place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzenelcielocr, Owner at Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback!

We do our very best to provide you with a clean, well equipped hostel. Our breakfast in the morning is what sets us apart from the other hostels in town. Just to clarify, our standard dorm room costs $15 per person per night.

Again, thank you for your feedback!! Happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Traveled here a year ago with my boyfriend and it was by far the best hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica! We stayed in the private cabina which was completely worth the value of the price. It was priceless waking up to howler monkeys every
morning, not to mention the cabina was beautifully set up and had a glass shower. Very clean hostel and very friendly staff, I recommend this place to anyone traveling through montezuma. We can't wait to return!

Pura vida,
Alana & Jeff

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amor de Mar
Hotel Amor de Mar
#4 of 19 in Montezuma
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Luz de Mono
Hotel Luz de Mono
#5 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#10 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kalapiti Luxury Jungle Suites
68.6 mi away
Hostel Pura Vida Montezuma
Hostel Pura Vida Montezuma
#9 of 19 in Montezuma
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.