We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Montezuma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Save Saved
You added Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Vista Cabina SPECIAL $65
Ranked #5 of 15 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Herselt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay in Montezuma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This comfy hostel with hammocks, very clean rooms and bathrooms, and a really outstanding breakfast was such good value for money (dam: 15 usd). The staff is also very friendly: they helped me booking my dorm in San Jose and called the hostel with their land line! To be recommended

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
16
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I just fell in love with this place! Because of the breakfast and lodge, it's easy to meet people. And it's a really short walk to the town and waterfall and other wonderful places. I stayed two nights longer and I was sad to leave after that. Breakfast is so good, the coffee is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We really liked this hostel. The dorms were cool and quiet with mosquito nets on the doors and windows. The kitchen was good and breakfast were excellent. It's a bit of a way up the hill, but not too far away from town.

It is crazily expensive ($32 for 2 dorm beds, not even the luxury dorm), but it is a nice place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzenelcielocr, Owner at Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We really appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback!

We do our very best to provide you with a clean, well equipped hostel. Our breakfast in the morning is what sets us apart from the other hostels in town. Just to clarify, our standard dorm room costs $15 per person per night.

Again, thank you for your feedback!! Happy traveling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Traveled here a year ago with my boyfriend and it was by far the best hostel we stayed at in Costa Rica! We stayed in the private cabina which was completely worth the value of the price. It was priceless waking up to howler monkeys every
morning, not to mention the cabina was beautifully set up and had a glass shower. Very clean hostel and very friendly staff, I recommend this place to anyone traveling through montezuma. We can't wait to return!

Pura vida,
Alana & Jeff

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

When booking the luxury dorm I wasn't expecting luxury. But the only difference (for $12 more) is less people. I didn't have a locker, or laundry service, a reading light or any nicer looking accommodations as mentioned on the website.

The "ensuite bathroom" mentioned on the website means your outhouse is outside of your room. Outside!!!

The bunk beds are so low you will hit your head everything you sit up.

Good luck staying asleep with the sound of whatever fruits falling from the surrounding trees, hitting against the tin metal ceiling which sounds like gun fire its so loud!

We tried to book a snorkeling tour but they said it was sold out. We went into town, found the exact same type, and for $10 cheaper for the same day and time.

People rating this place excellent must live in tents. It's average at most.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzenelcielocr, Owner at Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear guest,

I am sorry that your experience was not what you expected. Our luxury dorm is nice than our standard, because it is it's own cabin, is much more spacious, you have your own key to the door has a private balcony and bathroom !! (Did you stay in the standard? how can you compare?)

The bathroom is outside, but this is the luxury... an open-air bathroom with a separate shower, toilette and doubled sinks, so one person doesn't take up the entire bathroom at once and natural air freshener all the time!

We have reading lights and personal fans on every bed, but sometimes they get moved around and one guest will use two at once... things happen. You can always ask, but we heard not one complaint or suggestion from you.

We do have lockers located in the main part of the lodge. This is the most secure place for the lockers. Also your room locks, our standard dorms do not.

The mangos fall on all of our buildings this time of year... it is very hard to avoid this. We have put up nets to collect them, but a few of the small ones get through!

This is your home in the jungle... and it is a beautiful place!

I am sorry that you did not come to us with your complaints, for we could have tried to help you have a better stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. The hostel staff were very friendly, especially Juan Luis and the Argentinan/Italian woman at the front desk! The travelers who come through this hostel are amazing people, and it created a community vibe that makes it difficult to leave. I stayed in both the dorms and the luxury dorm. The luxury dorm was well worth the increase in price, with it's own porch, outdoor shower and bathrooms, and views of the sunset from up top. I would definitely return to this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

El Luz en el Cielo is a rather small hostel located in the middle of the wood, so if you don't like any kind of animals, it's not the right spot for you. Best thing about the hostel is the excellent breakfast which is included in the price and the incredibly friendly and helpful stuff, which does everything to make your stay as nice as possible. Doorms are very small and its hot during the night, and there are also just 2 bathrooms for the whole hostels. However, we enjoyed our stay at Luz en el cielo! :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.