We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the buisness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel to your Saves list
Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel
50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Montezuma B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“the buisness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Absolutely loved this place. This place is everything you expect from Montezuma. It has a wicked vibe and this is down to the awesome staff and location. The staff made me so welcome and looked after me very well. Can't say enough good things about them, they really made my stay. Thank you Abbey, Jakey (que mono), Milli (kitchen goddess) Juan Luis (the man who can) and finally the beautiful Gabriel and Lissert (mis tortugas). These guys do a brilliant job. The hostel is safe as house's and super clean. The layout of the hostel makes it a real social place and there's all ways the wild life to observe. Monkey's, birds, lizards, armadillos right on your doorstep it feels so wild. It's worth every penny and with the breakfast thrown in you can't lose. If you want the real Montezuma vibe and a decent, friendly place to stay then it has to be La luz en el cielo.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    21
    7
    8
    2
See reviews for
1
16
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Our experience at Luz en el Cielo was fabulous. The staff there were extremely helpful and friendly and the place is astonishing. Clean, cozy, and way too much fun. A great relaxed environment with an excellent vibe. Vale la pena!

Room Tip: Dorms were cozy and comfortable, would recommend renting a mosquito net if you don't have you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I stayed here first with friends, afterwards alone. Although the expression alone does not really fit the place, because since I was travelling during off-season the hostel had less then 10 guests, which made it easy to get to know everyone. In the evening the whole hostel would do something (night-swimming in the ocean, going to one of the few bars etc.) together. This was really fun. The atmosphere is laid-back, but still the owner is strict with quiet-time during the night, therefore the screaming monkeys should be your only concern regarding noise.

I stayed in a six bed dorm room, with an additional "bathroom" outside. All very clean and nice-looking. The dormitory was a cabina, not part of the acutal hostel building, surrounded by nature (yes, monkeys that throw fruit at you too). Like other people mention, there was a drought and hence water was short, but that wouldn't have been different in another hostel in Montezuma. Concerns about safety seem legitimate at first, since there are no lockers. However, I never felt unsafe, since the hostel is guarded by a local guy during the night and by the owners during the day. The rather high price is justified by the great service, plus it includes a great breakfast with fruits, gallo pinto and scrambled eggs.

I would recommend Luz en el Cielo in any case and will - if I return to Montezuma one day - visit again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We got in after dark on a Friday night, but our taxi driver knew exactly where this place was. They are up the hill from the town, but it is not to bad of a walk if you are up to it. We stayed in one of the new cabinas. It was lovely and very nice and clean. Unfortunately the water pump had broken that day and they had not been able to fix it, but we were allowed to use the shared restroom. They also gave us a deduction on the room without even having to ask for it. It was fixed by Saturday night, but unfortunately we were not told of this, so we did not get to use the restrooms. Other than that the staff was very nice, good breakfast, and you felt like you were in the Jungle, which was amazing. The monkey's can be very noisy, but it is such a neat experience. I would come back again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Try the cabinas if you budget allows for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We were very excited to spend three nights in the dorm rooms in Luz en el Cielo while in Montezuma. I planned this trip with 5 other girls and everything seemed like it was going to be perfect. Luz told us we'd have our own room with our own bathroom. When we arrived they had split us up and neither room had its own bathroom. Additionally, we had other random people staying in each room. I have stayed in hostels before I know that sleeping in a room with other people is normal, however they did not inform us that this was what we were getting and our doors did not even have any locks on them. I woke up to see three people in a two person bunk and my friends in the other room awoke to a stray dog that had slipped in through the unlocked door. The breakfast was decent, probably the only good thing about our stay. To make matters worse, Montezuma was going through a drought. Completely understandable to be tight with water but Luz en el Cielo did not even have enough water for us to fill up water bottles, let alone shower. After spending all day on the beach, all you want to do is shower and I went through three days of attempting and failing to shower.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itatiba, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

This place is a really "Luz en el cielo", I stayed for only two days but its worth to go back and enjoy a whole week there. Its very close to the little town, but at the same time is in the middle of the forest, we even received visits from the monkeys, so its very quiet and relaxing. The staff is very fun and welcoming, always ready to help you and also schedule surf lessons, and waterfall trails. The kitchen is well equiped, and one of the best things is the breakfast, which is something very hard to find in other hostels.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in one of the two cabinas and it was really clean and nice. We were amazed at how cool it was to sleep with the doors wide open and listen to the sounds of the jungle (although it was a little hard to get used to the first night). We woke up to monkeys and a view of the ocean in the distant. Amazing. Great staff who were very helpful with all our local questions. We had a sushi night at the hostel where we made dinner as a group and it was very enjoyable. Breakfasts were filling and delicious. We really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel

Address: 50 metros antes del centro de Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Montezuma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wake up to the sounds of the jungle. Luz en el Cielo B&B/Hostel is located just out of Montezuma's town center. Montezuma is a small beach town with a huge heart and a lot of charm. This newly renovated, classy hostel is great for budget travels, families and couples. We currently have three dorm rooms in the main lodge, one dorm cabina with it's own balcony and bathroom, each equipped with new mattress, sheets and furnishings. We also have newly built private cabinas as of January 2012. Enjoy using our wireless internet, communal kitchen and lounge. Breakfast is included with every stay, as well as coffee all day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En El Cielo Eco-b&b/ Hotel Montezuma
Luz En El Cielo Eco-Bed And Breakfast/Hostel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luz en el Cielo Eco-B&B/Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.